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PAYMENT FOR MEDICAL CARE AND SERVICES 

 

1. This paragraph intentionally left blank. 

2. Outpatient Hospital 

a. Payments for services billed by Outpatient Hospitals using Current Procedural Terminology 

(CPT) codes will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 unit values for the Nevada-specific 

resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) and the 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule 

conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or the amounts specified 

below: 

i. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 90% of the 

Medicare facility rate. 

ii. Radiology codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility 

rate. 

iii. Effective February 15, 2012, Radiopharmaceutical and Contrast codes will be 

reimbursed at the 2012 Medicare Mean Unit Cost plus 5%. 

iv. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare facility 

rate. 

v. Vaccine Products require a National Drug Code (NDC) and will be reimbursed 

according to the drug reimbursement algorithm set forth on page 3 of Attachment 

4.19-B. 

vi. Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 90% of the 

Medicare facility rate. 

vii. Obstetrical service codes 59000 – 59999 will be reimbursed at 90% of the Medicare 

facility rate. 

viii. Anesthesia codes 00100 – 01999 will be reimbursed based on the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 2009 base units for anesthesia. Payment is 

determined by adding the base units plus time units and multiplying the result by the 

CMS 2013 anesthesia conversion factor of $22.57. Anesthesia codes 01967 – 01969 

are occurrence based codes that are paid a flat rate. Anesthesia codes 99100 – 99140 

are not covered. 

ix. Prescribed drugs (page 3, paragraph 12a). 

x. Outpatient laboratory and pathology services (page 1a, paragraph 3). 

xi. Dental services (CDT codes, page 2c, paragraph 10). 

xii. Durable medical equipment; prosthetics and orthotics (page 2, paragraph 7c); and 

disposable supplies (page 2, paragraph 7d). 

 

Assurance: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the 

same for both public and private providers of the service. The agency’s outpatient hospital 

fee schedule rates were set as of January 1, 2017 and are effective for services provided on 

or after that date. All rates are published on our website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 

 

b. (This paragraph intentionally left blank.) 
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c. Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC) and Rural Health Clinics (RHC) 

 

Nevada Medicaid uses a Prospective Payment System (PPS) for FQHCs/RHCs as required by S.S.A. 

§1902 (a) (15) [42 U.S.C. § 1396a (a) (15)] and S.S.A. §1902 (bb) [42 U.S.C. §1396a (bb)]. The PPS for 

FQHCs/RHCs was implemented and took effect on January 1, 2001. 

 

Prospective Payment System (PPS) Reimbursement for Existing Facilities 

 

On January 1, 2001, the State began paying FQHCs/RHCs (including “FQHC look alike clinics”) based 

on a PPS rate methodology, per CMS requirements. The baseline for a PPS was set at 100 percent of the 

average of an FQHC/RHC per visit rate based on the reported reasonable and allowable costs of 

providing Medicaid-covered services during the FQHC/RHC fiscal years 1999 and 2000, adjusted to take 

into account any reported increase (or decrease) in the scope of services furnished during FY 2001 by the 

FQHC/RHC (calculating the payment amount on a per visit basis). Medicaid-covered services that are 

considered to be FQHC/RHC services are those services that were identified and approved to be provided 

by the facility as it applies to HRSA in order to be deemed as an FQHC/RHC facility. 

 

Beginning in Federal fiscal year 2002, and for each fiscal year thereafter, each FQHC/RHC is entitled to 

the payment amount (on a per visit basis) to which the center or clinic was entitled under the Act in the 

previous year, increased each October 1st (FFY) by the percentage increase (or decrease) in the Medicare 

Economic Index (MEI) for primary care services as defined in Section 1842 (i) (3) of the Social Security 

Act, which is intended to account for the basic cost increases associated with providing such services. 

 

After February 6, 2016, the DHCFP will allow reimbursement for up to three encounters/visits per person 

per day provided that the FQHC has separate PPS rates for each reimbursable service type; medical, 

mental behavioral health and dental. FQHCs that only provide two of the specified service types will be 

allowed reimbursement for up to two encounters/visits per patient per day. For FQHCs that only have one 

PPS rate will be allowed reimbursement for only one encounter/visit per patient per day. For FQHCs that 

do not have separate Service Specific Prospective Payment Systems (SSPPS) rates already established, 

they may opt to change to an Alternative Payment Methodology (APM) wherein their costs/visits will be 

reviewed after a full year of providing and receiving reimbursement for up to three (or two) 

visits/encounters per patient per day, resulting in separate Service Specific Alternative Payment 

Methodology (SSAPM) rates being established. 

 

FQHCs may choose to retain their current SSPPS rates and not bill up to three encounters/visits per 

patient per day, which will not result in a change to an SSAPM and a current review of their costs and 

visits. 

 

PPS rates will not be subject to rebasing after their initial computation unless authorized by Congress. 

Only the actual costs related to any reported change in scope of services will be calculated (based on a 

full year of providing those services) and an adjustment or add-on to the baseline PPS rate will be made. 

Any other changes to the PPS rate(s) will be considered an APM and will be outlined below in this State 

plan. 
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Prospective Payment System (PPS)-Service Specific Reimbursement for New Facilities 

 

Newly qualified FQHCs/RHCs after Federal fiscal year 2012 will have initial payments (interim 

Service Specific PPS (SSPPS) rates) established either by reference to payments to one or more 

other clinics in the same or adjacent areas with similar caseloads and/or similar scope of services or 

based on an average of rates for other FQHC/RHC clinics throughout the State. 

 

Once their average per visit reasonable costs of providing Medicaid-covered services based on their 

first full year of operation can be determined, the initial interim SSPPS payments of the FQHC/RHC 

will be cost settled and any over or under payments will be reconciled and the SSPPS rate will then 

be established based on the actual cost to provide those services for their first full year. The per visit 

SSPPS rate(s) will then be adjusted annually every October 1st beginning at the next federal fiscal 

year by the percentage change in the Medicare Economic Index (MEI) for primary care services as 

defined in Section 1842 (i) (3) of the Social Security Act, for that calendar year as published in the 

Federal Register. The MEI adjustment is the mechanism used to account for the basic cost increases 

associated with providing such services. All required documentation of actual costs for the first full 

year of providing services must be furnished to the DHCFP no later than six months after 

completion of the first full year of services. If the required documentation is not received within six 

months after the completion of a full year of services, the annual MEI adjustments will be suspended 

until such time as the documentation is received and an actual SSPPS rate is determined. 

 

PPS/SSPPS rates will not be subject to rebasing after their initial computation unless authorized by 

Congress. Only the actual costs related to any reported change in scope of services will be calculated 

(based on a full year of providing those services) and an adjustment or add-on to the baseline 

PPS/SSPPS rate will be made. Any other changes to the PPS/SSPPS rate(s) will be considered an 

Alternative Payment Methodology (APM) and will be outlined below in this State Plan. 

 

Alternative Payment Methodology (APM) Reimbursement 

 

For any fiscal year after FY 2002, a State may use an APM methodology other than the Medicaid 

PPS, but only if the following statutory requirements are met. First, the APM must be agreed to by 

the State and by each individual FQHC/RHC to which the State wishes to apply the methodology. 

Second, the methodology must result in a payment to the center or clinic that is a least equal to the 

amount to which the center or clinic is entitled under the Medicaid PPS. Third, the methodology 

must be described in the approved State plan. 

 

Service Specific APM (SSAPM) rates are based on the specific service type being provided. 

SSAPM rates are set at 100 percent of the average of an FQHC/RHC per visit rate based on the 

reported reasonable and allowable costs of providing Medicaid-covered services during the time 

period under review (calculating the payment amount on a per visit basis per service type). For 

FQHCs that have separate service specific APM rates established, the DHCFP will allow 

reimbursement for up to three (or two) SSAPM encounters/visits per patient per day for the different 

service types: one medical, one behavioral health and one dental. 

 

Effective October 1st (FFY) of each year after an SSAPM rate has been established, for services  
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furnished on or after that date, the DHCFP will adjust the SSAPM rate by the percentage increase in 

the MEI applicable to primary care services as published in the Federal Register for that calendar 

year, which will account for basic cost increases associated with providing such services. 

 

APM to Reflect Other Payment Adjustments 

 

FQHC/RHC’s may request an APM to reflect other payment adjustments in the event of 

extraordinary circumstances, not otherwise reimbursed by other sources, including but not limited to 

acts of God; acts of nature; acts of terrorism and acts of war. However, if an FQHC/RHC’s existing 

PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate is sufficient to cover its overall costs, including those associated with the 

extraordinary circumstances, other payment adjustment is not warranted. The FQHC/RHC must 

show that its PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate is not sufficient to cover the costs associated with the 

extraordinary circumstance. The adjusted rate will only apply to the extent, and only for the period 

of time, that the additional costs for the event are reimbursable under federal Medicaid law and 

regulations governing claims for federal financial participation (FMAP). The DHCFP will work with 

the provider to gather the appropriate data at the time the incident occurs and a written request for a 

rate adjustment is made by the Provider. 

 

Change in Scope of Services 

 

PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rates may be adjusted to take into account any requested, documented and 

approved increase (or decrease) in the scope of services furnished by the FQHC/RHC in any given 

fiscal year. The FQHC/RHC must submit a written request detailing the change in scope of services 

to the Division within 60 days of the effective date of those changes in order for the rate adjustment 

to be retroactive to the date of the Change in Scope of Services. If a written request is not received 

within 60 days of those changes, the effective date for a rate adjustment will be the date the written 

request for a Change in Scope of Services was received by the DHCFP. Documentation and 

notification to support an increase or decrease in the scope of services is the responsibility of the 

provider and must specify all the changes up for review. 

 

An FQHC/RHC requesting a rate adjustment for changes in scope of services must submit 

data/documentation/schedules that substantiate the changes in scope and the related adjustment of 

reasonable costs following Medicare principals of reimbursement. 

 

An interim rate will be determined using the first three months of actual cost data available from the 

provider. After a full year of providing the services related to the change in scope, an analysis will be 

performed on the actual costs for a full year of service and an adjustment will be made to the 

PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM. Adjustments to the PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate for qualified/approved changes 

in scope will be based on Medicare Cost Reimbursement methodology, allocating costs related to 

patient care based upon a providers audited and approved costs for the change in scope services. The 

PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate adjustment will then be determined by dividing the approved allocated 

costs by the number of approved total visits for the given time period. 
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A Change in Scope of Services has been defined as a change in the type, intensity, duration and/or 

amount of any service that meets the definition of FQHC/RHC services as defined in section 1905 

(a) (2) (B) and (C) of the Social Security Act; and the service is included as a covered Medicaid 

service under the Medicaid state plan. General increases or decreases in costs associated with 

programs that were already a part of an established PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate do NOT constitute a 

Change in Scope. A Change in Scope must meet all of the following requirements: 

 

 The change in the scope of services is a change in the type, intensity, duration, or amount of 

services, or any combination thereof as defined in section 1905 (a) (2) (B) and (C) of the 

Social Security Act. 

 

 The cost is allowable under Medicare reasonable cost principals set forth in 45 CFR Part 75 

Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles and Audit Requirements for HHS 

Awards and /or 42CFR Part 413 Principles of Reasonable Cost Reimbursement. 

 

 The net change in the FQHC/RHC’s per visit PPS/SSPPS/APM rate must equal or exceed 

4% for the affected FQHC/RHC site(s). For FQHC/RHC’s that filed consolidated cost 

reports for multiple sites to establish the initial Prospective Payment reimbursement rate 

(PPS), the 4% threshold will be applied to the average per visit rate (medical, dental and 

mental health) of all sites that provide the specific service for the purposes of calculating the 

cost associated with a scope of service change. “Net change” means the per visit rate change 

attributable to the cumulative effect of all increases and decreases for a particular fiscal year 

for the specific service type. 

 

A Change in Scope of Services includes any of the following: 

 

 A change in the types of services offered, i.e., the addition of dental services, may qualify as 

a Change in Scope which may warrant an adjustment to the PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate or the 

establishment of a new PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM rate. 

 

 A change in intensity/duration or character of services offered by an FQHC/RHC attributable 

to changes in the types of patients served may qualify, such as services to patients with 

HIV/AIDS or other chronic diseases and other special populations requiring more intensive 

and frequent care. 

 

 A change in the magnitude, intensity or character of currently offered services, demonstrated 

and documented by an increase or decrease in the patient volume of certain high risk 

populations that require more intensive and frequent care, which may reasonably be expected 

to span at least one year may qualify. 

 

 A change in the type, intensity, duration or amount of service caused by changes in 

technology and medical practice used may qualify. 
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If a Change in Scope rate increase request is denied, the provider may request a formal rate appeal 

from the DHCFP. Rate appeal procedures are defined in the Medicaid Service Manual (MSM) 

Chapter 700. 

 

Definition of a “Visit”/“Encounter” 

 

A “visit” or an “encounter” for the purposes of reimbursing FQHC/RHC services is defined as face-

to-face contact with one or more qualified health professionals and multiple contacts with the same 

health professional that take place on the same day with the same patient for the same service type. 

 

Qualified Health Professional 

 

To be eligible for PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM reimbursement, services must be delivered exclusively by 

one or more of the following licensed Qualified Health Professionals or a provider working under 

his or her direct supervision: Physician, Osteopath, Podiatrist, Physician’s Assistant, Advanced 

Practice Registered Nurse, Certified Nurse Midwife, Clinical Psychologist, Clinical Social Worker, 

Dentist or Dental Hygienist and other Medicaid Qualified Providers. 

 

Documentation Required to Support a Request for Change in Scope of Services 

 

 Year End Payroll Reports for identified time periods 

 

 Trial Balances for all Revenues and Expenses for identified time periods 

 

 Grouping Schedule/Mapping of Trial Balance Accounts to the Cost Reports 

 

 Detailed General Ledger with Vendor Information for identified time periods 

 

 Claims reports showing Unique Patient Visits, DOS, Procedure Codes, Service Facility ID#, 

Amount Paid and Payer 

 

 Other Items as Deemed Necessary 

 

Record keeping and Audit 

 

All participating FQHC/RHC’s shall maintain an accounting system which identifies costs in a 

manner that conforms to generally accepted accounting principles and must maintain documentation 

sufficient to support all cost/visit data. 

 

The DHCFP, its fiscal agent or a designated and contracted financial entity may conduct periodic on-

site or desk audits of all cost data, including financial and statistical records of the FQHCs/RHCs. 

 

 

 
 

TN No.: 16-003 Approval Date: December 13, 2016 Effective Date: February 6, 2016 

Supersedes 

TN No.: 13-017 



STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 

State of Nevada Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 1 (Continued p. 5) 

 

FQHCs/RHCs must submit information (statistics, costs and financial data or other data) as deemed 

necessary by the DHCFP or its fiscal agent. Failure to submit requested documentation may result in denial 

of a rate adjustment request. 

 

The DHCFP will conduct one audit annually (at a minimum) to the claims submitted by the FQHC/RHC for 

supplemental payments. 

 

Supplemental Payments for FQHCs/RHCs Enrolled with a Managed Care Entity (MCE) 

 

FQHCs/RHCs that provide services under a contract with a Medicaid Managed Care Entity (MCE) will 

receive quarterly or monthly (as agreed upon between the provider and the state) supplemental payments for 

furnishing such services, that are a calculation of the difference between the payments the FQHC/RHC 

receives from the MCE(s) for all qualified Medicaid FQHC/RHC visits and the payments the FQHC/RHC 

would have received under the PPS/SSPPS or SSAPM methodology. 

 

At the end of each payment period, the total amount of MCE payments received by the FQHC/RHC will be 

reviewed against the amount that the actual number of visits provided under the FQHC's/RHC's contract 

with MCE(s) would have yielded under the PPS/SSPPS/SSAPM methodology. If the amount exceeds the 

total amount of MCE payments, the FQHC/RHC will be paid the difference, if the amount is less, the 

FQHC/RHC will refund the difference to the DHCFP. The FQHC/RHCs must provide sufficient 

documentation (as requested) to the DHCFP to facilitate supplemental payment calculations. If the required 

documentation is not provided to support the supplemental payment, future supplemental payments may be 

suspended. 

 

Documentation Required to Calculate/Support Supplemental Payments 

 

The FQHC/RHC will submit an electronic request for supplemental payment which will contain at least the 

following information for each line item of every qualified encounter during the reporting time period 

(Quarterly or Monthly): Medicaid Billing Provider ID#, Recipient MCE ID Number, Recipient Medicaid ID 

Number, Date of Service, Procedure Code(s), MCE Name, Total Billed Amount, MCE Paid Amount, Other 

Paid Amount, Total Amount Paid and Recipient Date of Birth. 

 

The FQHC/RHC will submit claim data for supplemental payment no later than thirty days after the end of 

the reporting period agreed upon with the DHCFP (Quarterly or Monthly). 

 

Any discrepancy found in the audits will be adjusted based on the audit findings. 
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3. Laboratory and pathology services deemed to be Nevada Medicaid covered benefits will be 

paid at:  

 

a. For codes 80000 - 89999, the lower of billed charges not to exceed 50% of the rate allowed 

by the 2014 Medicare Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory Fee Schedule for Nevada; 

b. Allowed laboratory and pathology codes/services outside of the ranges listed in 3.1 and 3.2 

or not listed in the Medicare Clinical Diagnostic Laboratory Fee Schedule for Nevada will be 

paid in accordance with other sections of this State Plan based on rendering provider type; 

b. For “BR” (by report) and “RNE” (relativity not established) codes that fall within the code 

range 80000 - 89999, the payment will be set at 62% of billed charges; or 

c. Contracted or negotiated amount. 
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4. EPSDT and Family Planning 

 

I. Early and periodic screening, diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) services will be reimbursed 

the lower of a) billed charge, or b) fixed fee per unit as indicated for specific services listed 

elsewhere in this attachment. 
 

A. School Based Child Health Services (SBCHS) delivered by school districts and 

provided to children with disabilities in accordance with the Individuals with 

Disabilities Act (IDEA). Services include: 

1. Physician’s services, 

2. Physician’s assistant services, 

3. Nursing services including registered nurses, licensed practical nurses and 

advanced nurse practitioners, 

4. Psychological services, 

5. Physical therapy services, 

6. Speech therapy, language disorders and audiology services, 

7. Occupational therapy services, and 

8. Medical supplies, equipment and appliance services – Assistive 

Communication Devices, audiological supplies and other Durable Medical 

Equipment (DME). 

 

B. SBCHS – Reimbursement Methodology 

 

SBCHS described in Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2a-2h of the Nevada State Plan and 

provided by an enrolled school district are reimbursed the lower of: a) billed charges; 

or b) a fixed fee schedule. 

 

A fixed fee schedule: as indicated for specific services listed elsewhere in this 

attachment e.g., psychologist services, nursing services, and therapy services. All 

rates are published on the agency’s website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 

 

The Agency’s rates are set as of July 1, 2009 and are effective for services on or after 

July 1, 2009. 

 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the 

same for both governmental and private providers of SBCHS and the fee schedule 

and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule are published on the 

agency’s website: http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 
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C. Intensive Behavior Intervention services as stated in Nevada State Plan Attachment 3.1-A, 

Intensive Behavior Intervention. 

 

Intensive Behavior Intervention Services (IBI) Reimbursement Methodology  

 

IBI Services described in Attachment 3.1-A, Page 2i-2k of the Nevada State Plan and 

provided by an enrolled qualified medical professional according to IBI requirements listed 

in Attachment 3.1-A, Pages 2j and 2k, are reimbursed the lower of: a) billed charges; or b) a 

fixed fee schedule. 

 

A fixed fee schedule: as indicated for specific services listed elsewhere in this attachment 

e.g., Intensive Behavior Intervention. All rates are published on the agency’s website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 

 

The Agency's rates are set as of January 1, 2016 and are effective for services on or after 

January 1, 2016. 

 

Payments for services billed by IBI Qualified Medical Professionals will be reimbursed 

based on provider qualifications and procedure codes. 

 

i. Nevada Licensed Physician (MD) or Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA) 

or Psychologist with a specialty in Behavior Intervention (PhD) will be 

reimbursed at 65% of Medicare rates as published in the Federal Register on July 

14, 2014. 42 CFR 411, 412, 416, et al. 

ii. Board Certified Assistant Behavior Analyst (BCaBA) will be reimbursed at 60% 

of the IBI Physician rate as shown above in (i). 

iii. Registered Behavioral Technicians (RBT) rate methodology: 

 

a. The rates are based on several factors used to determine the cost associated 

with performing the applicable services.  This model was developed to 

reflect provider requirements, operational service delivery, recruitment, 

credentialing, ongoing training/certification and administrative 

considerations. The following elements were used to determine the rates: 

 

1. Wage Information – The wage is based on similarly qualified 

occupations (required education and training) identified by Medicaid 

staff as comparable. 
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2. Employee Related Expenses (ERE) – ERE includes paid vacation, 

sick leave, holiday, health/life insurance, disability, worker’s 

compensation, payroll taxes, Medicare and Federal Income taxes. 

 

3. Productivity Adjustment Factor – Costs include non-billable services 

that are required for normal business operations such as staff 

meetings, personnel requirements, travel time and mileage. This also 

includes non-billable time spent by staff to include required case 

documentation and record keeping and time associated with 

missed/cancelled appointments. 

 

4. Allowances for Supervisory Time – Costs for the time spent 

supervising the field staff, which is not reimbursable under separate 

billing codes, as required by regulations. 

 

5. Certification/Training Expenses – Costs include initial and ongoing 

certification and training costs required to maintain provider 

qualifications. 

 

6. Administrative Overhead (10% Cap) – This includes costs associated 

with non-direct care activities required for normal business 

operations, such as building rent/utility costs, program support staff 

and office supplies, etc. 

 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for 

governmental and private providers of Intensive Behavior Intervention (IBI) services and the related 

fee schedule is published on the agency’s website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 

 

II. Family planning services and supplies: as indicated for specific services listed elsewhere in 

this attachment, e.g., physician services, prescribed drugs 
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5. Payments for services billed by Physicians using Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes will 

be calculated using the January 1, 2014 unit values for the Nevada-specific resource based relative 

value scale (RBRVS) and the 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor. Payment 

will be the lower of billed charges, or the amounts specified below: 

 

a. Surgical Codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 95% of the 

Medicare facility rate. 

 

1. Pediatric enhancement for recipients under the age of 21 will be the lesser of billed 

charges or 115% of the currently established Medicaid rates for Surgical Codes 

10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999. 

 

b. Radiology Codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility rate. 

Effective February 15, 2012, Radiopharmaceutical and Contrast codes will be reimbursed at 

the 2012 Medicare Mean Unit Cost plus 5%. 

c. Medicine Codes 90000 – 99199 will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare non-facility rate. 

 

1. Pediatric enhancement for recipients under the age of 21 will be the lesser of billed 

charges or 115% of the currently established Medicaid rates for Procedure Codes 

93000 – 93350. 

 

d. Evaluation and Management Codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 90% of the 

Medicare non-facility rate effective July 1, 2015 through June 30, 2016. Effective July 1, 

2016 Evaluation and Management Codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 95% of the 

Medicaid non-facility rate. 

e. Obstetrical Service Codes 59000 – 59999 will be reimbursed at 95% of the Medicare non-

facility rate. 

f. Anesthesia Codes 00100 – 01999 will be reimbursed based on the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services (CMS) 2009 base units for anesthesia. Payment is determined by adding 

the base units plus time units and multiplying the result by the CMS 2013 anesthesia 

conversion factor of $22.57. Anesthesia Codes 01967 – 01969 are occurrence based codes 

that are paid a flat rate. Anesthesia Codes 99100 – 99140 are not covered. 

g. Medicine Codes 90281 – 90399, and all other pharmaceuticals that are not identified above, 

will be reimbursed according to the drug reimbursement algorithm set forth on Page 3 of 

Attachment 4.19-B. 

 

Assurance: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the 

same for both public and private providers of the service. The agency’s physician fee 

schedule rates were set as of October 1, 2017, and are effective for services provided on or 

after that date. All rates are published on our website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 
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6. Medical care and any other type of remedial care provided by licensed practitioners: 

 

a. Payment for services billed by a Podiatrist will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 unit 

values for the Nevada-specific resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) and the 2014 

Medicare Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of billed 

charges, or the amount specified below: 

1. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 75% of the 

Medicare facility rate. 

2. Radiology codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility 

rate. 

3. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare non-

facility rate. 

4. Vaccine Products require a National Drug Code (NDC) and will be reimbursed 

according to the drug reimbursement algorithm set forth on page 3 of Attachment 

4.19-B. 

5. Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 90% of the 

Medicare non-facility rate. 

b. Payment for services billed by an Optometrist will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 

unit values for the Nevada-specific RBRVS and the 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule 

conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or the amount specified 

below: 

1. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 75% of the 

Medicare non-facility rate. 

2. Radiology codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility 

rate. 

3. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 and Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 

99499 will be reimbursed at 90% of the Medicare non-facility rate. See also Page 3a, 

12.d. 

c. Payment for services billed by a Chiropractor will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 

unit values for the Nevada-specific RBRVS and the 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule 

conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or the amount specified 

below: 

1. Radiology codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility 

rate.  

2. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare non-

facility rate. 

3. Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 90% of the 

Medicare non-facility rate. 

d. Payment for services billed by an Advanced Practitioner of Nursing/Physician 

Assistant/Nurse-Midwife will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 unit values for the 

Nevada specific resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) and the 2014 Medicare 

Physicians Fee Schedule conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or 

the amounts specified below: 
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1. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 59% of the 

Medicare facility rate. 

2. Radiology codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 75% of the Medicare facility 

rate. 

3. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 and Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 

99499 will be reimbursed at 63% of the Medicare non-facility rate. 

4. Obstetrical service codes 59000 – 59999 will be reimbursed at 75% of the Medicare 

non-facility rate. 
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e. Payment for community paramedicine services will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 

unit values for the Nevada-specific resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) and the 

2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of 

billed charges or the amounts specified below: 

1. Anesthesia codes 00100 – 01999 will be reimbursed based on the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 2009 base units for anesthesia. Payment is 

determined by adding the base units plus time units and multiplying the result by the 

CMS 2013 anesthesia conversion factor of $22.57. Anesthesia codes 01967 – 01969 

are occurrence based codes that are paid a flat rate. Anesthesia codes 99100 – 99140 

are not covered. 

2. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 59% of the 

Medicare facility rate. 

3. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 and Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 

99499 will be reimbursed at 63% of the Medicare non-facility rate. 

4. Vaccine Products require a National Drug Code (NDC) and will be reimbursed 

according to the drug reimbursement algorithm set forth on page 3 of Attachment 

4.19-B. 

f. Payment for services billed by a Psychologist will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 

unit values for the Nevada-specific RBRVS and the 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule 

conversion factor. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or the amounts specified 

below: 

1. Medicine codes 90000 – 99199 will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare non-

facility based rate. 

2. Vaccine Products require a NDC and will be reimbursed according to the drug 

reimbursement algorithm set forth on page 3 of Attachment 4.19-B. 

3. Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 90% of the 

Medicare non-facility based rate. 

Assurance: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the 

same for both public and private providers of the service. The agency’s Advanced 

Practitioner of Nursing/Physician Assistant/Nurse-Midwife fee schedule rates were set as of 

July 1, 2015 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. Podiatrist, 

Optometrist, Chiropractor, Nurse Anesthetist and Psychologist fee schedule rates were set as 

of January 1, 2017 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are 

published on our website: http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 

 

7. Telehealth Services 

 

Telehealth is the delivery of services from a provider of health care to a patient at a different 

location, through the use of information and audio-visual communication technology, not including 

standard telephone, facsimile or electronic mail. 

 

a. The originating site provider will be paid a telehealth originating site facility fee per 

completed transmission. Payment for an originating site facility fee will be reimbursed at the 

rate established in the CY 2012 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule. 
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b. The distant site provider is paid the current applicable Nevada Medicaid fee for the telehealth 

service provided. Instructions for submitting billing claims may be found on the Nevada 

Medicaid website: https://www.medicaid.nv.gov/providers/BillingInfo.aspx. 

c. A provider will not be eligible for payment as both the originating and distant site for the 

same patient, same date of service. 

d. Fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private providers. The Nevada 

Medicaid fee schedules may be found on the following website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 
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7. Home Health Care Services: 

 

a. Home health care services include the following services and items: 

 

1. physical therapy – 1 unit per 15 minutes, 

2. occupational therapy – 1 unit per 15 minutes, 

3. speech therapy – 1 unit per 15 minutes, 

4. family planning education – 1 unit per visit, 

5. skilled nursing services (RN/LPN visits) 1 unit per 60 minutes or 1 unit per 15 minutes for 

brief visits or 1 unit per 15 minutes for extended visits (after 1st hour), 

6. home health aide services – 1 unit per 60 minutes or 1 unit per 30 minutes for extended 

visits (after 1st hour), 

7. durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and 

8. disposable medical supplies. 

 

b. Reimbursements for Home Health Care services, listed above in a.1. through a.6, provided by 

Home Health Agencies (HHA) are the lower of a) billed charges, or b) a fixed fee schedule which 

includes the rate for each of the home health services and a rate for “mileage” as an add-on. The 

agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2016, and are effective for services on or after that date. All 

rates can be found on the official Web site of the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy at 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/ 

 

Effective July 1, 2016, pediatric enhancement rates do not apply for services listed above in a.5. 

 

c. Durable Medical Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Supplies (DMEPOS) 

 

1. Reimbursement for purchase of DMEPOS is the lower of: a) usual and customary charge, 

or b) a fixed fee schedule rate. 

2. Reimbursement for rental of DMEPOS is the lower of: a) usual and customary charge, or b) 

a fixed fee schedule rate. 

3. If there is no fee schedule available, reimbursement will be the lowest of: a) manufacturer’s 

suggested retail price (MSRP) less 25%, verifiable with quote or manufacturer’s invoice 

that clearly identifies MSRP; b) if there is no MSRP, reimbursement will be acquisition cost 

plus 20%, verifiable with manufacturer’s invoice; or c) the actual charge submitted by the 

provider. 

 

Payments for DMEPOS will be calculated using the 2016 Nevada-specific non-rural fee schedule 

issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Reimbursement will be set at 

100% of the Nevada-specific rates. 

 

d. Disposable supplies: 

 

1. If a supply item is billed through point of sale (POS), using a National Drug Code (NDC) 

number, reimbursement is the lower of: a) usual and customary charge, or b) gross amount 

due or c) Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) + 8% as indicated on the current national 

drug data base utilized in Point-of-Sale plus a handling fee. For drugs without a WAC 

acquisition cost will be reimbursed plus a handling fee. 
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2. All other supplies billed outside POS, using Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 

(HCPCS) codes and/or Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes are reimbursed the 

lower of: a) billed charge, or b) fixed fee schedule. The Agency’s rates were set as of 

January 1, 2017, and are effective for services on or after January 1, 2017. 

Assurance: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 

public and private providers of the service. The agency’s Home Health Care Services fee schedule rates 

were set as of July 1, 2016 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. Durable Medical 

Equipment, Prosthetics, Orthotics and Supplies fee schedule rates were set as of January 1, 2017, and are 

effective for services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on our website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 
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8. Private duty nursing services: lower of a) billed charges, or b) fixed fee schedule. The Agency’s rates 

were set as of July 1, 2000 and are effective for services on or after July 1, 2000. 

 

Assurance: State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers of the 

service and the fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule(s) are published 

on our website: http://www.dhcfp.nv.gov. 
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9. Special clinic services: as indicated for specific services listed elsewhere in this attachment, e.g., 

physicians' services, prescribed drugs, therapy. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or the 

amounts specified below: 

a. Surgical codes will be reimbursed at 69% of the Medicare facility rate. 

b. Radiology codes will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility rate. 

c. Medicine codes and Evaluation and Management codes will be reimbursed at 60% of the 

Medicare non-facility rate. Vaccine Products will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare non-

facility rate. 

d. When codes 90465 – 90468, 90471 – 90474, 99381 – 99385 and 99391 – 99395 are used for 

EPSDT services, the reimbursement will be 85% of the Medicare non-facility rate. 

e. Obstetrical service codes will be reimbursed at 88% of the Medicare non-facility rate. 

f. Medicine codes 90281 – 90399, and all other pharmaceuticals that are not identified above, 

will be reimbursed according to the drug reimbursement algorithm set forth on page 3 of 

Attachment 4.19-B with the exception of the pharmacy dispensing fee component of the 

algorithm. 

g. Freestanding Obstetrical/Birth Centers will be reimbursed an all-inclusive (one time) rate for 

Procedure code 59409 that shall not exceed 80% of the Hospital In-patient Maternity daily rate. 

The rate will be reviewed and updated annually as necessary at the FFY (Oct. – Sept.). 

  

 

Assurance: State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers of the service 

and the fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule(s) are published on our website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/.  
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Dental services:  

 

I. STANDARD DENTAL SERVICES 

Current Dental Terminology (CDT) codes will be reimbursed based on the base units in the “Relative 

Values for Dentists” publication by Relative Value Studies; Incorporated for the year the specific 

CDT code was set in the system. Effective July 1, 2013, payment is determined by multiplying the 

base units by the conversion factor of $20.50. 

 

II. MEDICAL/SURGICAL PROCEDURES RELATED TO DENTAL SERVICES 

Services billed using Current Procedure Terminology (CPT) codes will be calculated using unit 

values for the Nevada-specific resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) for the year that the 

specific CPT code was set in the system and the 2002 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule conversion 

factor. Payment will be the lower of billed charges, or the amounts specified below: 

 

a. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 - 69999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare 

facility rate. 

b. Radiology codes 70000 – 79999 will be reimbursed at 100% of the Medicare facility rate. 

c. Evaluation and Management codes 99201 – 99499 will be reimbursed at 85% of the Medicare 

non-facility rate. 

 

Assurance: State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers of the 

service and the fee schedule and any annual/periodic adjustments to the fee schedule(s) are published 

on our website: http://dhcfp.nv.gov/. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TN No. 13-010 Approval Date: August 30, 2013 Effective Date: July 1, 2013 

Supersedes 

TN No. 11-011 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/


 

 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 

State: Nevada Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 2d 

 

11. Physical therapy, occupational therapy, respiratory therapy and audiology services for individuals with 

speech, hearing and language disorders will be reimbursed the lower of a) billed charges, or b) fee 

schedule rate which is 77% of the Medicare non-facility rate. The Medicare non-facility rate is 

calculated using the January 1, 2014 unit values for the Nevada-specific resource based relative value 

scale (RBRVS) and the 2014 Medicare Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor. 
 

Assurance: State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private providers of 

the service. The agency’s therapy fee schedule rates were set as of January 1, 2017 and are effective for 

services provided on or after that date. All rates are published on our website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 
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12. a. Nevada Medicaid will meet all reporting and provision of information requirements of section 

1927(b)(2) and the requirements of subsections (d) and (g) of section 1927. 

 

The State assures that the State will not provide reimbursement for an innovator multi-source drug, 

subject to the Federal Upper Limits (42 CFR 447.332(a)), if, under applicable State law, a less 

expensive non-innovator multi-source drug could have been dispensed. 

 

1. Payment for multi-source drugs shall be the lowest of (a) Federal Upper Limit (FUL) as 

established by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) for listed multi-source 

drugs plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription; (b) State Maximum 

Allowable Cost (MAC) plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription; (c) Actual 

Acquisition Cost (AAC) plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription; or (d) the 

pharmacist's usual and customary charge. 

 

2. Payment for covered outpatient drugs other than multi-source drugs shall not exceed the lower 

of (a) AAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription; or (b) the pharmacist's 

usual and customary charge to the general public. 

 

3. Actual Acquisition Cost (AAC) is defined by Nevada Medicaid as the Agency’s determination 

of the actual prices paid by pharmacy providers to acquire drug products marked or sold by 

specific manufacturers and is based on the National Average Drug Acquisition Cost (NADAC). 

Wholesale Acquisition Cost (WAC) + 0% will be offered for those drugs not available on 

NADAC, plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription. 

 

4. A generic drug may be considered for MAC pricing if there are two or more therapeutically 

equivalent, multi-source, non-innovator drugs with a significant cost difference. The MAC will 

be based on drug status (including non-rebatable, rebatable, obsolete, therapeutic equivalency 

ratings) marketplace availability and cost. The obsolete drug status will be taken into account to 

ensure that the MAC pricing is not influenced by the prices listed for obsolete drugs. The MAC 

will be based on drug prices obtained from a nationally recognized comprehensive data file 

maintained by a vendor under contract with the Department. 

 

5. Ingredient cost reimbursement for 340B covered entities shall be the lowest of (a) AAC, or (b) 

the 340B ceiling price. A professional dispensing fee of $10.17 will also be paid. 

 

6. Drugs acquired through the federal 340B drug pricing program and dispensed by 340B contract 

pharmacies are not covered. 

 

7. For drugs that are purchased outside the 340B program, the ingredient cost reimbursement will 

be based on AAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription. 

 

8. For drugs purchased through the Federal Supply Schedule (FSS), the ingredient cost 

reimbursement is based on AAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription. 
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9. For drugs acquired at a nominal price (outside of 340B or FSS), the ingredient cost 

reimbursement is based on AAC plus a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription. 

 

10. Providers that are approved to be reimbursed through an encounter rate(s) meet AAC 

requirements. 

 

11. For drugs (such as specialty drugs) not distributed by a retail community pharmacy, and 

distributed primarily through the mail, the ingredient cost reimbursement is based on AAC plus 

a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription. 

 

12. For drugs (such as a long-term care facility drugs) not distributed by a retail community 

pharmacy, the ingredient cost reimbursement will be based on AAC plus a professional 

dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription. 

 

13. For physician-administered drugs, the ingredient cost reimbursement shall be the lowest of (a) 

MAC; (b) AAC; or (c) the physician’s usual and customary charge. 

 

a. For 340B physician-administered drugs, the ingredient cost reimbursement will be the 

lowest of (a) AAC or (b) 340B ceiling price. 

 

14. For clotting factor drugs, ingredient cost reimbursement will be the lowest of AAC plus a 

professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per prescription, or the pharmacist’s usual and customary 

charge. 

 

a. For clotting factor drugs provided by 340B entities, the ingredient cost reimbursement 

will be the lowest of (a) AAC, or (b) 340B ceiling price, plus a professional dispensing 

fee of $10.17 per prescription. 

 

15. Out-of-state providers will be reimbursed a professional dispensing fee of $10.17 per 

prescription. 

 

16. The state of Nevada does not cover investigational drugs. 
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12. b. Dentures: lower of a) billed charge, or b) fixed fee per unit value. See also 10. 

 

c. Prosthetic devices: (1) hearing aids: wholesale cost plus fixed fee; (2) all others: retail charge 

less negotiated discount. 

 

d. Eyeglasses: (1) frames: wholesale cost to a fixed maximum; (2) lenses: laboratory invoice cost; 

(3) material services: lower of a) billed charge, or b) fixed fee per Medicaid assigned unit 

value. 

 

Assurance: State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private 

providers for dentures, prosthetic devices and eyeglasses. The Agency’s fee schedule rates 

were set as of January 1, 2017 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All 

rates are published on the Agency’s website at: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 

 

13. a. Other diagnostic services: lower of a) billed charges, or b) fixed fee per unit value. 

 

b. Other screening services: lower of a) billed charges, or b) fixed fee per unit value. 

 

c. Other preventive services: lower of a) billed charges, or b) fixed fee per unit value. 

 

1. Payment for medical nutrition therapy services billed by a Licensed and Registered 

Dietician will be calculated using the January 1, 2014 unit values for the Nevada 

specific resource based relative value scale (RBRVS) and the 2014 Medicare 

Physicians Fee Schedule conversion factor. Payment for Medicine Codes 90000 – 

99199 will be reimbursed the lower of billed charges or 63% of the Medicare non-

facility rate. 

 

d. Other rehabilitative services: PROVIDED WITH LIMITATIONS 

 

Assurance: State developed fee schedule rates are the same for both public and private 

providers for other diagnostic, screening, preventive and rehabilitative services. The Agency’s 

fee schedule rates were set as of January 1, 2018 and are effective for services provided on or 

after that date. All rates are published on the Agency’s website at: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 
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Other rehabilitative services: PROVIDED WITH LIMITATIONS: 

 

1. Non-Residential Mental Health Rehabilitative Services 

 

A. Reimbursement Methodology for Non-Residential Mental Health Rehabilitation Services 

provided by a state or local government entity: 

Non-residential mental health rehabilitation services: 

Examination, Psychiatric Diagnostic Interview - 1 unit per 75 to 80 minutes 

Examination, Interactive Psychiatric Diagnostic Interview - 1 unit per 75 to 80 minutes 

Individual Psychotherapy - 1 unit per 20 to 30 minutes; or 1 unit per 45 to 50 minutes; or 1 

unit per 75 to 80 minutes 

Psychoanalysis – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Family Psychotherapy – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Group Psychotherapy – 1 unit per 90 minutes; or 1 unit per 120 minutes 

Individual Psychophysiological Therapy – 1 unit per 20 to 30 minutes; or 1 unit per 45 to 50 

minutes 

Biofeedback – 1 unit per 20 to 30 minutes; or one unit per 40 to 50 minutes 

Psychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Psychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Developmental Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Examination, Neurobehavioral Status – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Neuropsychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Neuropsychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Assessment, Health and Behavior – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Intervention, Health and Behavior – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Evaluation and Management – 1 unit per 10 minutes; or 1 unit per 15 minutes; or 1 unit per 

25 minutes; or 1 unit per 40 minutes 

Screening, Behavioral Health – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Out of Office Therapy – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Out of Office Assessment – 1 unit per 90 minutes 

Medication training and support, out of office – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Medication training and support in office – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Peer to Peer support, individual – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Crisis Intervention, telephonic, face to face, team – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Day treatment – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Basic Skills Training, individual or group – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Psychosocial rehabilitation, individual or group – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Not all of the above unit values are billing units, for those codes that have a unit of measure 

defined as an “encounter” in the current Procedural Coding Expert, the values listed are time 

comparables for rate development. 
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Non-Residential Mental Health services provided by a state or local government entity are reimbursed 

according to a methodology used to certify costs as representing expenditures eligible for FFP and may be used 

only by providers who undergo all Medicaid cost identification, reporting, reconciliation and settlement 

procedures. 

 

The lower of: a) billed charges; or b) an interim rate. The Interim rate is the rate for a specific service for a 

period that is provisional in nature, pending the completion of cost reconciliation and a cost settlement for that 

period. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing Non-Residential Mental Health 

services the following steps are performed: 

 

1. Interim Rates 

 

Governmental providers are reimbursed on an interim basis for direct medical services per unit of 

service at the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or a provider-specific interim rate. A provider-

specific interim rate is an annual rate for the specific services for a period that is provisional in nature, 

pending the completion of cost reconciliation and a cost settlement for that period. Interim rates are 

based on program experience and cost data reported during the prior fiscal year. 

 

2. Annual Cost Report Process 

 

 Each governmental provider will complete an annual cost report in the format proscribed by Nevada 

Medicaid in the Medicaid Operations Manual for all medical services delivered during the previous 

state fiscal year covering July 1 through June 30. The cost report is due on or before December 1 of the 

year following the close of the reporting period. 

 

The primary purposes of the cost report are to: 

 

a. document the provider's total Medicaid-allowable cost for delivering the medical services, 

including direct costs and indirect costs, based on the methodologies/steps described below. 

 

b. reconcile its interim payments to its total Medicaid-allowable costs. 

 

The annual Medicaid Cost Report includes a certification of funds statement to be completed, 

certifying the provider's actual, incurred allocable and allowable costs/expenditures. All filed annual 

Cost Reports are subject to audit by DCHFP or its designee. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing covered services to Medicaid-

eligible clients, the following steps are performed: 
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A. Facilities that are primarily providing medical Services: 

  

(a) Direct costs for covered services include unallocated payroll costs and other 

unallocated costs that can be directly charged to covered medical services. Direct 

payroll costs include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract 

compensation) of direct care staff. Other direct costs include costs directly related to 

the delivery of covered services, such as supervision, materials and supplies, 

professional and contracted services, capital outlay, and travel. These costs must be in 

compliance with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are accumulated 

on the annual cost report, resulting in total direct costs. 

 

(b) Total direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not in compliance 

with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are further reduced by any 

federal payments for those costs, resulting in adjusted direct costs for covered services. 

 

(c) Indirect costs are determined by applying the agency specific approved indirect cost 

rate to its net direct costs. If the provider has no approved indirect cost rate, the 

allocated indirect costs can be derived from the allocation process through the 

provider’s approved cost allocation plan. These allocated indirect costs are reduced by 

any unallowable amount based on Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy. 

The indirect costs details are accumulated on the annual cost report. 

 

(d) Net direct costs (Item b) and indirect costs (Item c) are combined. 

 

(e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do not spend 100% 

of their time providing the Medical services described in the applicable section 3.1-A 

State plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that medical service 

personnel spend on direct medical services, general and administrative time, and all 

other activities to account for 100 percent of the time to assure that there is no duplicate 

claiming. This CMS approved time study methodology will be used to separate 

administrative activities and direct services. The direct medical services time study 

percentage is applied against the net direct and indirect costs. 

 

(f) Medicaid’s portion of total allowable costs is calculated by multiplying the result from 

Item (e) above to the ratio of the total units of service provided to Medicaid eligible 

clients to the total units of service provided. 

 

(g) Total Medicaid allowable costs (Item f) is reduced by any revenue, e.g. Medicaid co-

payments, TPL, received for the same services to arrive at the total Medicaid net 

allocable and allowable costs. 

TN No. 07-009 Approval Date: October 31, 2008 Effective Date: November 1, 2008 

Supersedes 

TN No. NEW 



 

 

 

 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

 

State: NEVADA Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 3e 

 

 
B. Facilities that are used for multiple purposes and the provision of medical services are not the 

primary purpose: 

 

(a) Direct costs include unallocated payroll costs and medical equipment and supplies. 

Unallocated payroll costs include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract 

compensation) of direct care staff. These costs are accumulated on the annual cost report. 

 

(b) The Direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not in compliance with 

Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are further reduced by any federal 

payments for those costs, resulting in adjusted direct costs. 

 

(c) Indirect costs are determined by applying the agency specific approved indirect cost rate to 

its net direct costs (Item b.). If the entity has no approved indirect cost rate, the allocated 

indirect costs can be derived from the allocation process through the provider’s approved 

cost allocation plan. These indirect costs are reduced by any unallowable amount. For these 

facilities, allowable costs are only those cost that are “directly attributable” to the 

professional component of providing the medical services and are in compliance with 

Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy. For those costs incurred that “benefit” 

multiple purposes but would be incurred at the same level if the medical services did not 

occur are not allowed, e.g. room and board, allocated cost from other related organizations. 

The indirect cost details are accumulated on the annual cost report. 

 

(d) Net direct costs (Item (b)) and indirect costs (Item (c)) are combined. 

 

(e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do not spend 100% of 

their time providing the Medical services described in the applicable section 3.1-A State 

plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that medical service personnel 

spend on direct medical services, general and administrative time, and all other activities to 

account for 100 percent of the time to assure that there is no duplicate claiming. This CMS 

approved time study methodology will be used to separate administrative activities and 

direct services. The direct medical services time study percentage is applied against the net 

direct and indirect costs. 

 

(f) Medicaid’s portion of the total net allocable and allowable costs is calculated by 

multiplying the result from Item (e) above to the ratio of total units of service provided to 

Medicaid eligible clients to the total units of service provided. 

 

(g) Total Medicaid allowable costs (Item f) is reduced by any revenue received for the same 

services, e.g. Medicaid co-payments and TPL, to arrive at the total Medicaid net 

 

(h) allocable and allowable costs. 
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3. Cost Reconciliation Process 

 

Governmental providers will be responsible for reconciling total allowable computable costs 

reported on the cost report to the provider’s Medicaid interim payments for Medicaid services 

delivered during the reporting period as document in the MMIS, resulting in cost 

reconciliation. The cost reconciliation process must be completed within twenty-four months 

of the end of the reporting period covered by the annual Cost Report. 

 

4. Cost Settlement Process 

 

If a governmental provider's interim payments exceed the actual, certified costs of the provider 

for services to Medicaid clients, the DHCFP will recoup the federal share of the overpayment 

using one of the following two methods: 

 

1. Off-set all future claims payments from the provider until the amount of the federal 

share of the overpayment is recovered; 

2. The provider will return an amount equal to the overpayment. 

 

If the actual, certified costs exceed the interim Medicaid payments, the DHCFP will pay the 

federal share of the difference to the provider in accordance with the final actual certification 

agreement. 

 

The DHCFP will issue a notice of settlement that denotes the amount due to or from the 

provider. 
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B. Reimbursement Methodology for Non-residential Mental Health Rehabilitation 

Services provided by non-governmental entities and governmental entities who do not 

undergo the Medicaid cost identification and reporting procedures: 

 

Non-residential mental health rehabilitation services: 

 

Examination, Psychiatric Diagnostic Interview – 1 unit per 75 to 80 minutes 

Examination, Interactive Psychiatric Diagnostic Interview – 1 unit per 75 to 80 

minutes 

Individual Psychotherapy – 1 unit per 20 to 30 minutes; or 1 unit per 45 to 50 

minutes; or 1 unit per 75 to 80 minutes 

Psychoanalysis – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Family Psychotherapy – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Group Psychotherapy – 1 unit per 90 minutes; or 1 unit per 120 minutes 

Individual Psychophysiological Therapy – 1 unit per 20 to 30 minutes; or 1 unit 

per 45 to 50 minutes 

Biofeedback – 1 unit per 20 to 30 minutes; or one unit per 40 to 50 minutes 

Psychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Psychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Developmental Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Examination, Neurobehavioral Status – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Neuropsychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Neuropsychological Testing – 1 unit per 60 minutes 

Assessment, Health and Behavior – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Intervention, Health and Behavior – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Evaluation and Management – 1 unit per 10 minutes; or 1 unit per 15 minutes; or 

1 unit per 25 minutes; or 1 unit per 40 minutes 

Screening, Behavioral Health – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Out of Office Therapy – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Out of Office Assessment – 1 unit per 90 minutes 

Medication training and support, out of office – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Medication training and support in office – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Peer to Peer support, individual – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Crisis Intervention, telephonic, face to face, team – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Day treatment – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Basic Skills Training, individual or group – 1 unit per 15 minutes 

Psychosocial rehabilitation, individual or group – 1 unit per 15 minutes 
 

Not all above unit values are billing units, for those codes that have a unit of 

measure defined as an “encounter” in the current Procedural Coding Expert, the 

values listed are time comparables for rate development. 
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1. Non-residential mental health rehabilitation services provided by private entities 

or governmental entities that do not undergo the Medicaid cost identification and 

reporting procedures will be reimbursed based on a statewide fee schedule. 

 

Rate Methodology: 

 

The rates are market based. This model is developed to reflect service definitions, 

provider requirements, operational service delivery and administrative 

considerations. The following elements are used to determine the rates: 

 

• Wage information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). 

The wage is based on similar occupations reported by BLS and identified 

by Medicaid staff as comparable to services provided under the mental 

health rehabilitation program. 

• Employee related expenses (ERE) percentage of 27% was based on input 

from the Task Force members and Medicaid Staff.  It includes paid 

vacation, paid sick leave, holiday pay, health insurance, life insurance, 

disability, workers compensation, and legally required payroll taxes. 

• Productivity adjustment factor which accounts for the amount of non-

billable time spent by staff. This includes the time staff needs to 

complete required documentation and record keeping, time associated 

with missed appointments and average travel time by the provider. 

• Program Support costs – costs based on average of 4 hours per day. 

This is to assist with paperwork and follow-up related to treatment. 

• Allowance for supervisory time - costs for the time directly spent in 

supervising the medical professional providing these services. 

• Allowances for capital costs – the costs are not included in the 

Administrative overhead. It includes the average hourly expense for 

building rental and maintenance, equipment leasing and utility 

expenses. 

• Administrative overhead, 10%, is the percentage of service costs that 

should result from non-direct care activities.  It includes insurance, 

administrative staff, operations and management activities and office 

supplies. Capital and related expenses is not included. It also does not 

include staff training. 

 

The following steps are used to determine the rates: 
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1. The State will use Nevada-specific hourly wages from the Bureau of 

Labor Statistics. 

2. The hourly amount is increased by the 27% ERE. 

3. A productivity factor is applied to the hourly compensation calculated in 

Item 2 to equal to the hourly rate. 

4. The adjusted hourly rate per individual is the hourly rate per individual 

(Item 3) increased by the program support costs per hour per individual, 

allowance for supervisory time and capital costs per hours. 

5. Administrative overhead (10%) is applied to the adjusted hourly rate per 

individual (Item 4). 

6. Total hourly rate is the sum of the adjusted hourly rate per individual 

before administrative overhead (Item 4) and the administrative overhead 

(Item 5). 

7. Total hourly rate is scaled to the proper unit based on the unit of service. 

8. Group rate is the individual rate divided by the group size assumption. 

 

These rates have been compared to other private sector fee-for-service rates. 

Documentation of the assumptions used, rate development methodology and fee 

schedule payment rates will be maintained by The Division of Health Care 

Financing and Policy. 

 

The Agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2006 and are effective for services 

on or after January 1, 2006. All rates are published on the Agency’s website at 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/. 

 

Services provided by an out-of-state provider require prior authorization by 

Nevada Medicaid, which must verify that the services required by Medicaid-

eligible or pending-eligible clients are not available in Nevada. The out-of-state 

payment rate for services provided by an out-of-state provider is based on one 

of the following criteria: 

 

a. The out-of-state provider will be paid the lesser of the provider’s billed 

charges or the fee-for-service rate that is paid to an in-state provider for 

the service. 

b. If the out-of-state provider refuses to accept this rate, then the out-of-

state provider may be paid the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or 

the same fee-for-service rate as it would be paid by its home state 

Medicaid program. 
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c. For services that cannot be provided by a provider that accepts payment 

under (A) or (B), the State will maintain a list of other qualified out-of-

state providers, and will negotiate competitive rates that will not exceed 

the provider’s customary charge.” 
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Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for both governmental and 

private providers. The agency’s fee schedule rates were set as of July 1, 2013 and are effective for services 

provided on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s website: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/RatesMain/ 

 

14. RESERVED 

 

15. RESERVED 

 

16. RESERVED 

 

17. RESERVED 

 

18. Prior to the beginning of each rate year, governmental providers of emergency medical transportation, 

ground ambulance services, must select one of the reimbursement methodologies described below. 

Governmental providers must select their reimbursement methodology by April 30 for the rate year 

beginning July 1 and will not be able to change the selected reimbursement methodology until the 

following rate year. 

 

I. Reimbursement methodology for emergency medical transportation, ground or air ambulance 

services, provided by non-governmental entities and governmental entities that do not undergo 

the Medicaid cost identification, reporting, reconciliation and settlement procedures. 

 

Emergency Medical Transportation: Ground Ambulance or Air Ambulance (fixed wing or 

rotary aircraft): lower of: a) billed charge, or b) fixed basic rate plus fixed fee per mile. 

Effective July 1, 2013, the reimbursement rates will be increased 15%. 

 

II. Reimbursement methodology for emergency medical transportation, ground ambulance services, 

provided by a government entity which selects cost identification, reporting, reconciliation and 

settlement. 

 

Governmental entities may select a reimbursement methodology for emergency medical 

transportation that is based on cost identification, reporting, reconciliation and settlement. This 

methodology reimburses governmental entities for uncompensated care costs for providing 

emergency medical transportation services to Nevada Medicaid beneficiaries. Uncompensated 

care costs are allowable costs in excess of payments made by Nevada Medicaid. This 

reimbursement will include a base payment per emergency medical transportation claim plus a 

final supplemental payment adjustment so that total reimbursement does not exceed or fall 

short of the total cost of providing services to Medicaid beneficiaries. 
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A. Definitions: 

 
1. “Emergency Medical Transportation” is synonymous with “Emergency Medical 

Response.” It includes both the act of transporting an individual from any point 

of origin to the nearest medical facility capable of meeting the emergency 

medical needs of the patient, as well as the advanced, limited-advanced and basic 

life support services provided to an individual by emergency medical 

transportation providers before or during the act of transportation. 

 

2. "Emergency Medical Response" is a cost objective that includes expenditures for 

medical services performed at the point of injury or illness, typically outside of a 

medical facility, to evaluate or treat a health condition. An emergency medical 

response is classified as “medical" by dispatch if the primary reason for the 

response is to provide medical services. 

 

3. “Direct costs” means all costs that can be identified specifically with particular 

final cost objectives in order to meet all medical transportation mandates. 

 

4. “Shared Direct Costs" are direct costs that can be allocated to two or more 

departmental functions or cost objectives on the basis of shared benefits. 

 
5. “Indirect costs” means costs for a common or joint purpose benefitting more 

than one cost objective that are allocated to each benefitting objectives using an 

agency approved indirect rate or an allocation methodology. Indirect costs rate or 

allocation methodology must comply with 2 CFR, Part 200 and CMS non-

institutional reimbursement policies. 

 

6. “Service Period” means the period from July 1st through June 30th of each 

Nevada state fiscal year. 

 

B. Provider Eligibility for Medicaid Reimbursement Based on Cost Identification. 

 

To be eligible to receive reimbursement based on cost identification for emergency 

medical transportation, a provider must meet all of the requirements described below: 

1. The provider is owned or operated by an eligible government entity to include the 

state, a city, a county, a consolidated city and county, a fire protection district 

organized pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 474 or a federally 

recognized Indian tribe. 

 

2. The provider is enrolled as a Nevada Medicaid provider for the period being 

claimed. 
 

3. The provider delivers emergency medical transportation services to Nevada 

Medicaid beneficiaries. 
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4. The provider has a Cost Allocation Plan (CAP) approved by the State Medicaid 

Agency on file with the State. 

 

C. Interim Medicaid Payment 

 

1. “Base Payment” is the interim reimbursement paid for each transport as a result 

of Medicaid claiming by the provider throughout the year. The base payment 

in the period October 1, 2015 through September 30, 2017 is determined by 

the Nevada Medicaid fee-for-service ambulance fee schedule. For periods 

beginning October 1, 2017, the base payment is the average cost per transport as 

determined in the most recent available cost report. The average cost per transport 

is determined by dividing the total allowable costs of providing emergency 

medical transportation services by the total number of emergency medical 

transports. 

 

D. Methodology for Reimbursement of Emergency Medical Transportation Services Based 

on Cost Identification. 

 

1. A provider’s specific allowable cost per-medical transport rate will be calculated 

based on the provider’s audited financial data reported on the CMS-approved 

cost report. The per-medical transport cost rate will be the sum of actual 

allowable direct and indirect costs of providing medical transport services 

divided by the actual number of medical transportation services provided for the 

applicable service period. 

 

a. Direct costs for providing medical transport services include only the 

unallocated payroll costs for those emergency response staff who 

dedicate 100 percent of their time to providing medical transport 

services; medical equipment and supplies, and other costs directly 

related to the delivery of covered services, such as first-line supervision, 

materials and supplies, professional and contracted services, capital 

outlay, travel and training. These costs must be in compliance with 

Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policies and are directly 

attributable to the provision of the medical transport services. 

 

b. Shared direct costs for emergency medical transportation services as 

defined by Section A.1, must be allocated for personnel, capital outlay 

and other costs; such as, medical supplies, professional and contracted 

services, training and travel. The personnel costs will be allocated based 

on the percentage of total hours logged performing emergency medical 

transportation activities versus other activities. The capital and other 

direct costs will be allocated based on the percentage of total call 

volume. 

 

c. Indirect costs are determined based on the provider’s approved cost 

allocation plan. 
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d. The provider specific per-medical transport cost rate is calculated by 

dividing the total net medical transport allowable costs (Item 1.a, Item 

1.b and Item 1.c) of the specific provider by the total number of 

medical transports provided by the provider for the applicable service 

period. 

 

2. Medicaid’s portion of the total allowable cost for providing emergency medical 

transportation services by each eligible provider is calculated by multiplying 

the total number of Medicaid FFS transports provided by the provider’s specific 

per-medical transport cost rate (Paragraph D.1.d) for the applicable service 

period. 
 

E. Eligible Provider Reporting Requirements: 

Eligible provider shall: 

1. Report and certify total computable allowable costs annually on a CMS-

approved Nevada Medicaid Emergency Transportation Services Cost Report, 

which is to be submitted annually by December 1 to the State Medicaid Agency. 

The Cost Report includes a certification of expenditures statement that states 

the total costs reported are accurately reported and allowable. 

 

2. Provide documentation to serve as evidence supporting the information on 

the cost report and the cost determination as specified by the State Medicaid 

Agency. 

 

3. Keep, maintain and have readily retrievable, such records as specified by 

the State Medicaid Agency. 

 

4. The provider will comply with the allowable cost requirements provided in 

42 CFR, Part 413, 2 CFR, Part 200, and Medicaid non-institutional 

reimbursement policies. 

 

F. State Medicaid Agency’s Responsibilities: 

 

1. The State will submit to CMS claims based on total computable certified 

expenditures for emergency transportation services provided that are 

allowable and in compliance with federal laws and regulations and Medicaid 

non-institutional reimbursement policies. 

 
2. As part of its financial oversight responsibilities, the State will review each 

provider’s Cost Report for reasonableness and accuracy and reconcile the 

Cost Report to t h e  provider claims data obtained from the Medicaid 

Management Information System (MMIS). The state will complete the cost 

report review and settlement process of the interim payments for the service 
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period within three years of the postmark date of the cost report. 
 

3. If the interim Medicaid payments exceed the actual certified costs of a 

provider, the State will recoup any overpayments and return the Federal share to 

the Federal government in accordance with 42 CFR 433.316. If the actual 

certified costs exceed the interim Medicaid payments, DHCFP will pay the 

federal share of the difference to the provider in accordance with the final 

actual certification agreement. 

 

III. Non-emergency transportation: 

 

A. Non-emergency transportation is authorized through a contracted NET Broker, as 

specified in Attachment 3.1-D. 

 

B. Reimbursement Methodology for Non-Emergency Paratransit services provided by the 

Regional Transportation Commission (RTC) operated by local government entities: 

 

1. The lower of: A) billed charges; or b) a cost based rate. 

 

The cost based rate is calculated annually using each public provider’s annual 

operating budget and service utilization forecast and an applicable 10% indirect 

cost rate. Each public provider will submit an annual operating budget and 

service utilization forecast at least 60 days before the start of the next fiscal year. 

The budget forecast must reflect a projection for allowable, necessary and proper 

direct cost in providing services. The cost based rate is calculated as follows: 

 

a. Direct costs include the costs for fuel, tires and subcontracted costs that 

are directly related in providing the non-emergency transportation 

services. These costs must be in compliance with the Medicare 

reimbursement principle and OMB A-87. 

 

b. The total direct costs (from Item A) are reduced by any federal grant 

funds received for the same services to arrive at the net allowable direct 

costs. 

 

c. Indirect costs are determined by applying a ten percent indirect cost rate 

to the net allowable direct costs (from Item B). 

 

Continued on Page 4 (Addendum) 
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1. Net allowable costs is the sum of the net allowable direct costs (Item 2) and 

indirect costs (Item 3). 

2. The cost based rate is the net allowable costs (from Item 4) divided by the 

total forecasted transportation service utilization. 

 

15. a. Services of Religious non-medical Healthcare Institution nurses: NOT PROVIDED. 

 

b. Services in Religious non-medical Healthcare Institutions sanitoria: NOT PROVIDED. 

 

c. Hospice Services: Reimbursed at the established annual Medicaid rate regardless of billed 

charges. The agency’s rates were set as of October 1, 2008 and are effective for services on 

or after that date. Rates are adjusted annually each year thereafter in accordance with 42CFR 

418. 

 

d. Hospice provided in a long-term care facility: Reimbursed 95% of the nursing facility daily 

rate for room and board provided by the nursing facility or long term care facility. 

 

16. Emergency hospital services out-of-state: lower of: a) billed charges, or b) local Medicaid 

maximums. The agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2005 and are effective for services on or after 

that date. 

 

17. Personal care services in recipients' home and setting outside the home: fixed hourly rate established 

by the State of Nevada legislative body. The agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2009 and are 

effective for services on or after that date. 
 

18. RESERVED 
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All Targeted Case Management groups will be reimbursed using the following methodologies effective as of 

July 1, 2009. 
 

23. Targeted Case Management (TCM) services will be reimbursed as follows: 

 

Prior to the beginning of each rate year, each of the governmental providers providing TCM services 

must select one the reimbursement methodologies described below for reimbursement. For example, 

by April 30, 2009, governmental providers must select a methodology for the rate year beginning 

July 1, 2009. Once a selected methodology is determined for a rate year, governmental providers 

will not be able to change the selected methodology until the following rate year. 

 

A. Reimbursement Methodology for Targeted Case Management Services provided by a 

non-governmental entity and governmental entities who do not undergo the Medicaid 

cost identification and reporting procedures: 

 

I. TCM: One unit per 15 minutes. 

 

II. TCM services provided by a private/non-governmental entity and governmental 

entities that do not undergo the Medicaid cost identification and reporting procedures 

will be reimbursed the lower of a) billed charges, or b) a fixed quarter hour rate. 

 

III. The quarterly hour rate is a market based model. This model reflects service 

definitions, provider requirements, operational service delivery and administrative 

considerations. The following elements are used to determine the rate: 

 

1. Wage Information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). The 

wage is based on similar occupations reported by BLS and identified by 

Medicaid staff as comparable to CM and TCM services. 

2. Employee rated expenses (ERE) percentage of 27% was based on input from 

the Provider Rates Task Force members and Medicaid Staff. It includes paid 

vacation, paid sick leave, holiday pay, health insurance, life insurance, 

disability, workers compensation and legally required payroll taxes. 

3. Productivity adjustment factor which accounts for the amount of non-billable 

time spent by staff. This includes the time staff needs to complete required 

documentation and record keeping, time associated with missed 

appointments and average travel time by the provider. 

4. Allowance for supervisory time – costs for the time directly spent in 

supervising the professional providing this CM and/or TCM service. 

5. Allowance for capital costs – the costs are not included in the administrative 

overhead. It includes the average hourly expense, for building rental and 

maintenance, equipment leasing and utility expenses. 

6. Allowance for mileage – the average costs related to the miles to travel to 

clients. 
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7. Administrative overhead, 10%, is the percentage of service cost that should 

result from non-direct care activities. It includes insurance, administrative staff, 

operations and management activities and office supplies. Capital and related 

expenses is not included. It also does not include staff training. 

 

IV. The following steps are used to determine the fixed quarter hour rate: 

 

1. The State will use Nevada-specific hourly wages from the Bureau of Labor 

Statistics. 

2. This hourly compensation is increased by the 27% ERE. 

3. A productivity factor is applied to the hourly compensation calculated in Item 2 

to equal the adjusted hourly rate. 

4. Allowance for supervisory time is determined. 

5. Administrative overhead (10%) is applied to the sum of adjusted hourly rate 

(Item 3) and the allowance for supervisory (Item 4). 

6. Allowance for mileage cost is determined. 

7. Allowance for capital costs is determined. 

8. Fixed hourly rate is the sum of adjusted hourly rate (Item 3), allowance for 

supervisory time (Item 4), administrative overhead (Item 5), allowance for 

mileage (Item 6), and allowance for capital costs (Item 7). 

9. Quarter hour rate is the fixed hourly rate (Item 8) divided by 4. 

 

This rate has been compared to other private sector fee-for-service rates. 

 

Documentation of the assumptions used, rate development methodology, and fee 

schedule payment rates will be maintained by the Division of Health Care Financing and 

Policy (DHCFP). 

 

The Agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2006 and are effective for services on or 

after January 1, 2006. All rates are published on the Agency’s website at 

www.dhcfp.nv.gov. 

 

B. Reimbursement Methodology for Targeted Case Management Services provided by a state or 

local government entity: 

 

Targeted Case Management services provided by a state or local government entity are 

reimbursed according to one of the following two payment methodologies. The second 

methodology must be used by providers who undergo all Medicaid cost identification, reporting, 

reconciliation and settlement procedures. 

 

I. The lower of: a) billed charges; or b) a cost based rate. The cost-based rate is an annual 

rate developed based on historic costs. Cost based rates will be calculated annually and 

are determined by dividing estimated reimbursable costs of providing Medicaid-covered 

services by the projected total direct medical service utilization for the upcoming fiscal 

period. 
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Each public provider will submit an annual operating budget and service utilization 

forecast at least 60 days before the start of the next fiscal year. The budget forecast must 

reflect a projection for allowable, necessary and proper expenses in providing Medicaid-

covered services. Allowable costs are those direct and indirect costs deemed allowable by 

CMS which are incurred and are proper and necessary to efficiently deliver needed 

services. Direct costs include unallocated payroll costs and other unallocated costs that can 

be directly charged to covered medical services. Direct payroll costs include total 

compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract compensation) of direct care staff. 

Other direct costs include costs directly related to the delivery of covered services, such as 

supervision, materials and supplies, professional and contracted services, capital outlay, 

and travel. These direct costs are accumulated on the annual cost report, resulting in total 

direct costs. 

 

The Agency’s rates were set as of July 1, 2007 and are effective for services on or after 

July 1, 2009. All rates are published on the Agency’s website at www.dhcfp.nv.gov. 

 

II. The lower of: a) billed charges; or b) an interim rate. The Interim rate is the rate for a 

specific service for a period that is provisional in nature, pending the completion of 

cost reconciliation and a cost settlement for that period. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing Targeted Case 

Management services the following steps are performed: 

 

1. Interim Rates 

 

Governmental providers are reimbursed on an interim basis for direct medical 

services per unit of service at the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or a provider-

specific interim rate. A provider-specific interim rate is an annual rate for the 

specific services for a period that is provisional in nature, pending the completion of 

cost reconciliation and a cost settlement for that period. Interim rates are based on 

program experience and cost data reported during the prior fiscal year. 

 

2. Annual Cost Report Process 

 

Each governmental provider will complete an annual cost report in the format 

prescribed by Nevada Medicaid in the Medicaid Operations Manual for all medical 

services delivered during the previous state fiscal year covering July 1 through June 

30. The cost report is due on or before December 1 of the year following the close of 

the reporting period. The primary purposes of the cost report are to: 

 

a. document the provider's total Medicaid-allowable cost for delivering the 

medical services, including direct costs and indirect costs. 

b. reconcile its interim payments to its total Medicaid-allowable costs. 
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The annual Medicaid Cost Report includes a certification of expenditures statement 

to be completed, certifying the provider's actual, incurred allocable and allowable 

costs/expenditures. All filed annual Cost Reports are subject to audit by the DCHFP 

or its designee. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing covered 

services to Medicaid-eligible clients, the following steps are performed: 

 

A. Settings that are primarily providing medical services: 

 

(a.) Direct costs for covered services include unallocated payroll costs 

and other unallocated costs that can be directly charged to covered 

medical services. Direct payroll costs include total compensation 

(i.e., salaries and benefits and contract compensation) of direct care 

staff. Other direct costs include costs directly related to the delivery 

of covered services, such as supervision, materials and supplies, 

professional and contracted services, capital outlay and travel. These 

costs must be in compliance with Medicaid non-institutional 

reimbursement policy and are accumulated on the annual cost report, 

resulting in total direct costs. 

 

(b.) Total direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not 

in compliance with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy 

and are further reduced by any federal payments for those costs, 

resulting in adjusted direct costs for covered services. 

 

(c.) Indirect costs are determined by applying the agency specific 

approved indirect cost rate to its net direct costs. If the provider has 

no approved indirect cost rate, the allocated indirect costs can be 

derived from the allocation process through the provider’s approved 

cost allocation plan. These allocated indirect costs are reduced by any 

unallowable amount based on Medicaid non-intuitional 

reimbursement policy. The indirect costs details are accumulated on 

the annual cost report. 

 

(d.) Net direct costs (b) and indirect costs (c) are combined. 

 

(e.) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do 

not spend 100% of their time providing the Targeted Case 

Management services described in the applicable section 3.1-A State 

plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that case 

management service personnel spend on direct Targeted 
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Case Management services, general and administrative time, and all 

other activities to account for 100 percent of the time to assure that 

there is no duplicate claiming. This CMS approved time study 

methodology will be used to separate administrative activities and 

direct services. The direct Targeted Case Management services time 

study percentage is applied against the net direct and indirect costs. 
 

(f.) Medicaid’s portion of total allowable costs is calculated by 

multiplying the result from item (e) above to the ratio of the total 

units of service provided to Medicaid eligible clients to the total units 

of service provided. 
 

(g.) Total Medicaid allowable costs (f) is reduced by any revenue, e.g. 

Medicaid co-payments, TPL, received for the same services to arrive 

at the total Medicaid net allocable and allowable costs. 
 

B. Facilities that are used for multiple purposes and the provision of medical 

services is not the primary purpose: 

 

(a) Direct costs include unallocated payroll costs and medical equipment 

and supplies. Unallocated payroll costs include total compensation 

(i.e., salaries and benefits and contract compensation) of direct care 

staff. 

 

(b) The Direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not 

in compliance with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy 

and are further reduced by any federal payments for those costs, 

resulting in adjusted direct costs. 

 

(c) Indirect costs are determined by applying the agency specified 

approved indirect cost rate to its net direct costs (Item b.). If the 

entity has no approved indirect cost rate, the allocated indirect costs 

can be derived from the allocation process through the provider’s 

approved cost allocation plan. These indirect costs are reduced by 

any allowable amount. For these facilities, allowable costs are only 

those costs that are “directly attributable” to the professional 

component of providing the medical services and are in compliance 

with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy. For those 

costs incurred that “benefit” multiple purposes but would be incurred 

at the same level if the medical services did not occur are not 

allowed, e.g., room and board, allocated cost from other related 

organizations. The indirect cost details are accumulated on the annual 

cost report. 
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(d) Net direct costs (Item (b)) and indirect costs (Item (c)) are combined. 
 

(e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do 

not spend 100% of their time providing the Targeted Case 

Management services described in the applicable section 3.1-A State 

plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that case 

management service personnel spend on direct Targeted Case 

Management services, general and administrative time and all other 

activities to account for 100 percent of the time to assure that there is 

no duplicate claiming. This CMS approved time study methodology 

will be used to separate administrative activities and direct services. 

The direct Targeted Case Management services time study 

percentage is applied against the net direct and indirect costs. 
 

(f) Medicaid’s portion of the total net allocable and allowable costs is 

calculated by multiplying the result from Item (e) above to the ratio 

of total units of service provided to Medicaid eligible clients to the 

total units of service provided. 

 

(g) Total Medicaid allowable costs (Item f) is reduced by any revenue 

received for the same services, e.g. Medicaid co-payments and TPL, 

to arrive at the total Medicaid net allocable and allowable costs. 

 

3. Cost Reconciliation Process 

Governmental providers will be responsible for reconciling total computable costs 

reported on the cost report to the provider’s Medicaid interim payments for Medicaid 

services delivered during the reporting period as document in the MMIS, resulting in 

cost reconciliation. The cost reconciliation process must be completed within 

twenty-four months of the end of the reporting period covered by the annual Cost 

Report. 

 

4. Cost Settlement Process 

 

If a governmental provider's interim payments exceed the actual, certified costs of 

the provider for services to Medicaid clients, the DHCFP will recoup the federal 

share of the overpayment using one of the following two methods: 

 

1. Off-set all future claims payments from the provider until the amount of the 

federal share of the overpayment is recovered; 

2. The provider will return an amount equal to the overpayment. 
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If the actual, certified costs exceed the interim Medicaid payments, the DHCFP will pay 

the federal share of the difference to the provider in accordance with the final actual 

certification agreement. 

 

The DHCFP will issue a notice of settlement that denotes the amount due to or from the 

provider. 
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24. RESERVED 

 

25. Newly developed Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) codes determined to be for Nevada 

Medicaid covered services: Codes for those services with a rate methodology which uses resource 

based relative value scale (RBRVS), as specified elsewhere in this Attachment, will be entered into 

the system using the Nevada specific unit value developed by Medicare. The 2014 Medicare 

Physician Fee Schedule conversion factor will be used to calculate payment for these newly 

developed codes where the RBRVS is used. The maximum allowable will be established by 

multiplying the unit value and the 2014 conversion factor and then paying the appropriate 

percentage, as specified elsewhere in this Attachment, based on the provider type, service type and 

CPT code range. 

 

If a code is billed that has no Nevada specific Medicare rate, the Division will determine if there is 

national Medicare pricing. If so, the service will be paid at the appropriate percentage of the rate, as 

specified elsewhere in this Attachment. If there is no national Medicare pricing, the Division will 

establish pricing based on similar services. 
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26. Surgical services provided in both hospital-based and freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Centers 

(ASC) 

 

a. Payments for services billed by hospital-based and freestanding Ambulatory Surgical 

Centers (ASC) will be calculated using the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 

(CMS) Ambulatory Payment Classification (APC) grouping as published in 42 CFR parts 

405, 410, 412 ,413, 416 and 419. A Nevada ASC Base Rate will be established for each 

service by multiplying the associated 2016 ASC payment weight from the APC group 

(found in CMS-1633-FC-Addenda file) by the 2016 ASC conversion factor of 44.177 

(found in CMS–1633–FC; CMS–1607–F2), then multiplying the result by the 2016 NV 

Wage Index of 0.9299 (Found in CMS-1633-FC Wage Index file). 

1. Surgical codes 10000 – 58999 and 60000 – 69999 will be reimbursed at 85% of the 

NV ASC Base Rate. 

b. Services that CMS identifies as excluded from payment in an ASC setting, but are deemed 

appropriate to be performed in that setting by NV Medicaid Policy, will be paid using the 

CMS Outpatient Prospective Payment System (OPPS) relative weight from the associated 

APC group for that service in place of the ASC payment weight to establish the NV ASC 

Base Rate. 

c. In the case of multiple procedures, the following adjustments to the fee schedule are made: 

1) First procedure 100% of fee schedule 

2) Second procedure 50% of fee schedule 

3) Third procedure 25% of fee schedule 

4) Fourth procedure 10% of fee schedule 

5) Fifth and thereafter procedures 5% of fee schedule 

d. Professional services are reimbursed as indicated in page 1c of Section 4.19-B. 

e. Cornea Procurement will be reimbursed at 100% of the procurement charges as listed in the 

2013 The Lewin Group Study. 

 

Assurance: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state developed fee schedule rates are the same for 

both public and private providers of the service. The agency’s outpatient surgery (ASC) fee schedule 

rates were set as of January 1, 2017 and are effective for services provided on or after that date. All 

rates are published on our website: http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/. 
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Methods and Standards Used to Determine Payment 

For Emergency Medical Services for Illegal Aliens 

 

Hospital, emergency clinics and county social service/welfare departments have been informed about the 

availability of emergency medical services and application procedures for aliens who have not been 

lawfully admitted for permanent residence or otherwise are not permanently residing in the United States 

under color of law. 

 

When a hospital, clinic or county social service department determines a person receiving emergency 

services is indigent and an illegal alien, the alien will be referred to the State Welfare Division District 

Office for application. If the applicant is unable or reluctant to go to the Welfare District Office, the 

hospital/clinic/social service department will assist the applicant in completing the application and 

gathering verification and will send the application and verification to the Welfare District Office with the 

billing(s). 

 

The District Office eligibility worker will request from the provider a bill or other evidence services were 

rendered and will obtain an application (if not already completed) and necessary verifications/information. 

The eligibility worker will approve eligibility for the months in which services were rendered and the 

applicant meets income/resource and other criteria (e.g., disability or incapacity). (A Medicaid card will not 

be issued to the client.) Providers will be notified of client eligibility so applicable bills may be submitted to 

the Medicaid fiscal agent for payment determination and processing based on whether the alleged qualifying 

services actually met the emergency criteria. The fiscal agent will notify providers of the reason for any 

payment denial. 

 

Medicaid will make payment only for the alien's care and services which are necessary for the treatment 

after sudden onset of an emergency medical condition. As defined in Section 1903(v), an "emergency 

medical condition means a medical condition (including emergency labor and delivery) manifesting itself 

by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that the absence of immediate medical 

attention could reasonably be expected to result in: 

 

(A) placing the patient's health in serious jeopardy, 

 

(B) serious impairment to bodily functions, or 

 

(C) serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part. 
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Payment for Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries (QMBs) 

 

For Qualified Medicare Beneficiaries, Nevada Medicare will pay the Medicare deductibles and coinsurance 

subject to the following limitation: The Medicare payment (allowable charge) plus the deductible and 

coinsurance may not exceed the Medicaid maximum allowable payment. For Medicare services, which are 

not covered by Nevada Medicaid, or for which Nevada Medicaid does not have an established payment rate, 

Nevada Medicaid will pay the Medicare deductible and coinsurance amounts. 

 

QMB claims for services which are covered by Medicare are not subject to Medicaid limitations. Medicaid 

will reimburse the deductible and coinsurance up to the Medicaid maximum allowable payment. Also, prior 

authorization is not required for Medicare allowable services for dually entitled QMBs. If Medicare benefits 

are exhausted or Medicare does not cover the service and the service is covered by Medicaid, prior 

authorization is required if the service or benefit normally requires it. 
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REIMBURSEMENT FOR INDIAN HEALTH SERVICE AND TRIBAL 638 HEALTH FACILITIES 
 

Effective January 1, 2015, Nevada Medicaid will reimburse Indian Health Services facilities and Tribal 638 
facilities in accordance with the most recent published Federal Register notice. 
 

The published, all inclusive, rate is paid for up to five face-to-face encounters/visits per recipient per day. 

Encounters/visits are limited to healthcare professionals as approved under the Nevada Medicaid State Plan. 
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Enhanced Rates for Practitioner Services 

Delivered in a Teaching Environment 

 

In order to ensure access to practitioner services by needy individuals in the state of Nevada and to recognize 

the higher cost of providing practitioner services in a teaching environment, enhanced payments will be made 

for services provided by Designated Practitioners through one of the following four eligible public teaching 

entities: 

 

• University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Dental Medicine 

• University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine 

• University of Nevada, Reno School of Medicine 

• University Medical Center of Southern Nevada 

 

Enhanced payments apply to claims paid on or after July 1, 2017 to Medicaid-enrolled Designated 

Practitioners providing approved Medicaid services through one of the eligible public teaching entities under 

the Nevada Medicaid State Plan. Medicaid Services must be billed under the Medicaid Billing Provider ID of a 

Designated Billing Provider. 

 

The State of Nevada Division of Healthcare Financing and Policy (DHCFP) must concur with the public 

teaching entity’s designation of eligible practitioners in order for the payment adjustment to be applied. 

 

The following Designated Practitioners are eligible for enhanced payments: 

 

• Advanced Practitioner of Registered Nursing (APRN) 

• Audiologist 

• Clinical Psychologist 

• Dentist 

• Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor, Intern or Psychological Assistant 

• Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 

• Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist (LMFT) 

• Licensed Nurse Practitioner 

• Licensed Registered Nurse 

• Oral Surgeon 

• Physician (MD or DO) 

• Physician Assistant (PA-C) 

• Speech Pathologist 

• Optometrist 

• Ophthalmologist 

• Registered Dietician 

• Registered Behavioral Technician 
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For the purposes of these enhanced payments for services provided by Designated Practitioners delivered in a 

teaching environment, the following definitions shall apply: 

 

• Designated Practitioner means an individual practitioner or a practitioner group designated by 

one of the eligible public teaching entities as participating in medical education programs. To 

qualify for designation as a Designated Practitioner, the practitioner or practitioner group must 

be either an employee of the designating eligible public teaching entity or under contract with 

the designating eligible public teaching entity. Designations may apply to both public and 

private practitioners and practitioner groups. 

 

• Designated Billing Provider means one of the eligible public teaching entities or a billing 

provider/provider group that facilitates meaningful medical education and is contracted by the 

designating eligible public teaching entity for billing Medicaid services provided by the 

Designated Practitioners. 

 

Medicaid Services means Fee-for-Service (FFS) practitioner services enumerated by 

Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS)/Common Procedural Terminology 

(CPT)/Code on Dental Procedures (CDT)/Code, delivered to Medicaid eligible recipients, and 

paid during the Claims Payment Period. The source of the service and payment data shall be 

the Nevada MMIS. 

 

• The following services are excluded from the enhanced payment: 

 

o Services delivered to Medicaid eligible recipients enrolled in Medicaid Managed Care 

Organizations or Pre-Paid Ambulatory Health Plans (PAHP). 

o Clinical diagnostic lab procedures 

o Services provided to Medicaid recipients also eligible for Medicare 

o The technical component of radiological services 

o Services provided by practitioners/practitioner groups not designated by one of the 

eligible public teaching entities as Designated Practitioners for the entire Claims 

Payment Period 

o Services not billed by a Designated Billing Provider 

 

• Medicaid Base Rate(s) means the applicable Medicaid FFS reimbursement rate(s) published by 

the DHCFP, applicable on the date of service. 

 

• Claims Payment Period means the three-month period directly prior to the first day of each 

payment quarter. 

 

• Base Period means the state fiscal year (July 1 – June 30) prior to the Claims Payment Period. 
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• Average Commercial Rate (ACR) means, for each procedure (HCPCS/CPT/CDT) code, the 

average reimbursement amount of the top five commercial payers to the public teaching entity. 

"Commercial payers" exclude Medicare, Workers Compensation and any other payer(s) not 

subject to market forces. The ACR for each procedure code is established separately for each 

public teaching entity every Base Period. 

 

If an eligible public teaching entity’s contracts with commercial payers do not include a rate for a Medicaid 

Service delivered by a Designated Practitioner, and the Designated Billing Provider’s contracts with 

commercial payers do include a rate for the Medicaid Service, the designating public teaching entity’s average 

ACR percentage increase over the Medicaid Base Rates will be applied to the Medicaid Base Rate for the 

Medicaid Service. 

 

If an eligible public teaching entity does not have contracts in place with commercial payers during a Base 

Period, the ACRs will be calculated based on the public teaching entity’s contracts with commercial payers in 

effect during the Claims Payment Period. 

 

The enhanced payment for each eligible service will be the lesser of: 

 

• The difference between Billed Charges and the Medicaid Base Rate. 

• The difference between 100% of the ACR and the Medicaid Base Rate. 

 

Each eligible public teaching entity will provide the following listings to the DHCFP no later than the fifth 

business day of the first month of a quarter: 

 

• A list of Designated Practitioners to include the Practitioner Name, Practitioner National 

Provider Identification number (NPI), Designation Start Date, Designation End Date (if 

applicable) for the prior quarter. 

• A list of Designated Billing Providers to include the Billing Provider Name, Billing Provider 

ID, Designation Start Date, Designation End Date (if applicable) for the prior quarter. 

 

No later than the last business day of the first month of the quarter, the DHCFP will provide a separate report 

to each eligible public teaching entity which includes the utilization data for the services paid during the 

Claims Payment Period that were billed by their Designated Billing Providers and delivered by their 

Designated Practitioners. The public teaching entity must review the report and acknowledge the completeness 

and accuracy of the report no later than the last business day of the second month of the quarter. After receipt 

of this acknowledgement, the DHCFP will approve and process the quarterly enhanced payments for each 

Designated Billing Provider no later than the last business day of the last month of the quarter. The process 

includes a reconciliation that takes into account all valid claim replacements affecting claims previously 

processed, as well as a process for recoupment of erroneous enhanced payments. 

 

The enhanced payments will be sent to the Designated Billing Providers through the identification number 

used to bill Medicaid under the FFS program. 
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End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Dialysis Procedure Payment and ESRD Facilities 

 

 

Hemodialysis (HD) and peritoneal dialysis (PD) services, CPT codes 90999 and 90945 respectively, will be 

paid the lower of 1.) billed charges, or 2.) a fixed fee. Dialysis services are all services provided in 

conjunction with the dialysis treatment as defined in the Medicare ESRD Facility Prospective Payment 

System. 

 

The bundled prospective payment rate will be set according to the most current Centers for Medicare & 

Medicaid Services (CMS) ESRD Prospective Payment System base rate. The bundled rate will include all 

resources used in providing outpatient dialysis treatment, including biological, drugs and laboratory services. 

 

The fixed fee for 90999 (HD) will be 100% of the Medicare ESRD Prospective Payment System (PPS) base 

rate multiplied by the current ESRD Wage Index Locality Factor for Nevada for independent and hospital-

based facilities. The fixed fee for 90945 (PD) is set as an HD-equivalent session. This is accomplished by 

dividing HD rate by seven, and multiplying the result by three. 

 

Vaccine Products require a National Drug Code (NDC) and will be reimbursed according to the drug 

reimbursement algorithm set forth on Page 3 of Attachment 4.19-B. 

 

Assurance: Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 

governmental and private providers of ESRD services. The agency’s fee schedule rates were set as of 

January 1, 2017, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the agency’s 

website at: http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/RatesMain/. 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services  

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 

1. Services Provided Under Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act. For each optional service, 

describe the methods and standards used to set the associated payment rate: 

 

 HCBS Care Coordination 
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 

 HCBS Homemaker  

 

 HCBS Basic Homemaker 

 HCBS Chore Services 
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 
 

 HCBS Home Health Aide 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services  

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 

 

 HCBS Personal Care 

 

 HCBS Personal Care I 

 HCBS Personal Care II 

 HCBS Attendant Services 

 HCBS Adult Companion 

 HCBS Personal Emergency Response Systems 

 HCBS Assistive Technology 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services  

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) 

 

Reimbursement Methodology for Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) Services provided by a non-

governmental entity and governmental entities who do not undergo the Medicaid cost identification 

and reporting procedures: 

 

Prior to the beginning of each rate year, each of the governmental providers providing ADHC 

services must select one of the reimbursement methodologies described below for reimbursement. 

For example, by April 30, 2013, governmental providers must select a methodology for the rate year 

beginning July 1, 2013. Once a selected methodology is determined for a rate year, governmental 

providers will not be able to change the selected methodology until the following rate year. 

 
Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for both 

governmental and private providers of ADHC services. The Agency’s rates were set as of October 1, 

2017 and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published on the Agency’s website at 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 

 

The billable unit of service for ADHC is one unit per 15 minutes or the daily rate. 

 

• If services are authorized and provided for less than six hours per day, provider should bill one 

unit for each 15 minutes; 

• If services are authorized and provided for six hours or more per day, provider should bill the per 

diem rate. 

 

Rate Methodology: 

The rate is market based. This model is developed to reflect service definitions, provider requirements, 

operational service delivery and administrative considerations. The following elements are used to 

determine the rate: 

 

• Wage information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). The wage is based on 

similar occupations reported by BLS and identified by Medicaid staff as comparable to ADHC 

services. 

• Employee related expenses (ERE) percentage of 27% was based on input from the Task Force 

members and Medicaid Staff. It includes paid vacation, paid sick leave, holiday pay, health 

insurance, life insurance, disability, workers compensation, and legally required payroll taxes. 

• Productivity adjustment factor which accounts for the amount of non-billable time spent by staff. 

This includes the time staff needs to complete required documentation and record keeping, time 

associated with missed appointments and average travel time by the provider. 

• Administrative overhead, 10%, is the percentage of service cost that should result from non-direct 

care activities. It includes insurance, administrative staff, operations and management activities 

and office supplies. Capital and related expenses is not included. It also does not include staff 

training. 
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• Allowances for capital costs – the costs are not included in the Administrative overhead. It 

includes the average hourly expense for building rental and maintenance, equipment leasing 

and utility expenses. 

 

The following steps are used to determine the rate: 

 

1. The State will use Nevada-specific hourly wages from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as of 

May 2004 inflated to June 2006. 

2. This hourly compensation is increased by the 27% ERE. 

3. A productivity factor is applied to the hourly compensation calculated in Item 2 to equal to 

the adjusted hourly rate. 

4. Administrative overhead (10%) is applied to the adjusted hourly rate (Item 3). 

5. Determine allowance for capital costs per hour. 

6. Fixed hourly rate is the sum of adjusted hourly rate (Item 3), administrative overhead (Item 

4) and capital costs (Item 5). 

7. Fixed hourly rate is scaled to the proper unit based on the procedure code. 

 

This rate has been compared to government entities who do not follow all cost reporting rules 

and other private sector fee-for-service rates. Documentation of the assumptions used, rate 

development methodology, and fee schedule payment rates will be maintained by The 

Division of Health Care Financing and Policy. 
 

A. Reimbursement Methodology for Adult Day Health Care (ADHC) services provided by a 

state or local government entity: 

 

ADHC services provided by a state or local government entity are reimbursed according to 

the following payment methodology. This methodology is used by providers who undergo all 

Medicaid cost identification, reporting, reconciliation and settlement procedures. 

 

I. The lower of: a) billed charges; or b) an interim rate. The Interim rate is the rate for a 

specific service for a period that is provisional in nature, pending the completion of 

cost reconciliation and a cost settlement for that period. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing Adult Day 

Health Care Services the following steps are performed: 
 

1. Interim Rates 

 

Governmental providers are reimbursed on an interim basis for direct 

medical services per unit of service at the lesser of the provider’s billed 

charges or a provider-specific interim rate. A provider-specific interim 

rate is an annual rate for the specific services for a period that is 

provisional in nature, pending the completion of cost reconciliation and 

a cost settlement for that period. Interim rates are based on program 

experience and cost data reported during the prior fiscal year. 
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2. Annual Cost Report Process 

 

Each governmental provider will complete an annual cost report in the format 

prescribed by Nevada Medicaid for all medical services delivered during the 

previous state fiscal year covering July 1 through June 30. The cost report is due 

on or before December 1 of the year following the close of the reporting period. 

 

The primary purposes of the cost report are to: 

 

a. document the provider's total Medicaid-allowable cost for delivering the 

medical services, including direct costs and indirect costs. 

b. reconcile its interim payments to its total Medicaid-allowable costs. 

 

The annual Medicaid Cost Report includes a certification of expenditures 

statement to be completed, certifying the provider's actual, incurred allocable and 

allowable costs/expenditures. All filed annual Cost Reports are subject to audit 

by the DHCFP or its designee. 

 

B. Settings that are primarily providing medical services: 

 

a) Direct costs for covered services include unallocated payroll costs and other unallocated 

costs that can be directly charged to covered medical services. Direct payroll costs 

include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract compensation) of 

direct care staff. Other direct costs include costs directly related to the delivery of covered 

services, such as supervision, materials and supplies, professional and contracted 

services, capital outlay and travel. These costs must be in compliance with Medicaid non-

institutional reimbursement policy and are accumulated on the annual cost report, 

resulting in total direct costs. 

 

b) Total direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not in compliance with 

Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are further reduced by any federal 

payments for those costs, resulting in adjusted direct costs for covered services. 

 

c) Indirect costs are determined by applying the cognizant agency approved indirect cost 

rate to its net direct costs. If the provider has no approved indirect cost rate, the allocated 

indirect costs can be derived from the allocation process through the provider’s approved 

cost allocation plan. These allocated indirect costs are reduced by any unallowable 

amount based on Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy. The indirect cost 

details are accumulated on the annual cost report. 

 

d) Net direct costs (b) and indirect costs (c) are combined. 

 

e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do not spend 100% of 

their time providing the ADHC services described in the applicable section 3.1-A State 

Plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that service personnel spend 

on direct ADHC. 

 

f)  
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g) Services, general and administrative time, and all other activities to account for 100 

Services, general and administrative time and all other activities to account for 100 per 

percent of the time to assure that there is no duplicate claiming. This CMS approved time 

study methodology will be used to separate administrative activities and direct services. 

The direct Adult Day Health Care Services time study percentage is applied against the 

net direct and indirect costs. 

 

h) Medicaid’s portion of total allowable costs is calculated by multiplying the result from 

item (e) above to the ratio of the total units of service provided to Medicaid eligible 

clients to the total units of service provided. 

 

i) Total Medicaid allowable costs (f) is reduced by any revenue, e.g. Medicaid co-payments, 

TPL, received for the same services to arrive at the total Medicaid net allocable and 

allowable costs. 

 

C. Facilities that are used for multiple purposes and the provision of medical services is not the 

primary purpose: 

 

a) Direct costs include unallocated payroll costs and medical equipment and supplies. 

Unallocated payroll costs include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and 

contract compensation) of direct care staff. 

 

b) The Direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not in compliance with 

Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are further reduced by any federal 

payments for those costs, resulting in adjusted direct costs. 

 

c) Indirect costs are determined by applying the cognizant agency approved indirect cost 

rate to its net direct costs (Item b.). If the entity has no approved indirect cost rate, the 

allocated indirect costs can be derived from the allocation process through the provider’s 

approved cost allocation plan. These indirect costs are reduced by any allowable amount. 

For these facilities, allowable costs are only those costs that are “directly attributable” to 

the professional component of providing the medical services and are in compliance with 

Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy. For those costs incurred that “benefit” 

multiple purposes but would be incurred at the same level if the medical services did not 

occur are not allowed, e.g., room and board, allocated cost from other related 

organizations. The indirect cost details are accumulated on the annual cost report. 

 

d) Net direct costs (Item (b)) and indirect costs (Item (c)) are combined. 

 

e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do not spend 100% of 

their time providing the Adult Day Health Care Services described in the applicable 

section 3.1-A State Plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that 

service personnel spend on direct Adult Day Health Care Services, general and 

administrative time, and all other activities to account for 100 percent of the time to 

assure that there is no duplicate claiming. This CMS approved time study methodology 

will be used to separate administrative activities and direct services. The direct Adult  
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Day Health Care Services time study percentage is applied against the net direct and 

indirect costs. 

 

f) Medicaid’s portion of the total net allocable and allowable costs is calculated by 

multiplying the result from Item (e) above to the ratio of total units of service 

provided to Medicaid eligible clients to the total units of service provided. 

 

g) Total Medicaid allowable costs (Item f) is reduced by any revenue received for the 

same services, e.g. Medicaid co-payments and TPL, to arrive at the total Medicaid net 

allocable and allowable costs. 

 

3. Cost Reconciliation Process 

 

Governmental providers will be responsible for reconciling total computable 

costs reported on the cost report to the provider’s Medicaid interim payments 

for Medicaid services delivered during the reporting period as documented in 

the MMIS, resulting in cost reconciliation. The cost reconciliation process 

must be completed within twenty-four months of the end of the reporting 

period covered by the annual Cost Report.  

 

4. Cost Settlement Process 

 

If a governmental provider's interim payments exceed the actual, certified 

costs of the provider for services to Medicaid clients, the DHCFP will recoup 

the federal share of the overpayment using one of the following two methods: 

 

1. Off-set all future claims payments from the provider until the amount 

of the federal share of the overpayment is recovered; 

2. The provider will return an amount equal to the overpayment. 

 

If the actual, certified costs exceed the interim Medicaid payments, the 

DHCFP will pay the federal share of the difference to the provider in 

accordance with the final actual certification agreement.  

 

The DHCFP will issue a notice of settlement that denotes the amount due to 

or from the provider. 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services  

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 

Services provided by an out-of-state provider require prior authorization by Nevada Medicaid, which 

must verify that the services required by Medicaid-eligible or pending-eligible clients are not 

available in Nevada. The out-of-state payment rate for services provided by an out-of-state provider 

is based on one of the following criteria: 

 

a. The out-of-state provider will be paid the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or the fee-

for-service rate that is paid to an in-state provider for the service. 

 

b. If the out-of-state provider refuses to accept this rate, then the out-of-state provider may be 

paid the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or the same fee-for-service rate as it would be 

paid by its home state Medicaid program. 

 

c. For services that cannot be provided by a provider that accepts payment under (A) or (B), the 

State will maintain a list of other qualified out-of-state providers, and will negotiate 

competitive rates that will not exceed the provider’s customary charge. 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 
 
 

1. Fixed hourly rate is scaled to the proper unit based on the procedure code. 

 

This rate has been compared to other private sector Fee-for-Service rates. Documentation of 

the assumptions used, rate development methodology, and fee schedule payment rates will be 

maintained by The Division of Health Care Financing and Policy. 

 

Except as otherwise noted in the plan, state-developed fee schedule rates are the same for 

both governmental and private providers of ADHC services. The agency’s rates were set as 

of October 1, 2017, and are effective for services on or after that date. All rates are published 

on the agency’s website at: 

http://dhcfp.nv.gov/Resources/Rates/FeeSchedules/ 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services  

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 
 

Services provided by an out-of-state provider require prior authorization by Nevada Medicaid, which 

must verify that the services required by Medicaid-eligible or pending-eligible clients are not 

available in Nevada. The out-of-state payment rate for services provided by an out-of-state provider 

is based on one of the following criteria: 

 

d. The out-of-state provider will be paid the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or the fee-

for-service rate that is paid to an in-state provider for the service. 

 

e. If the out-of-state provider refuses to accept this rate, then the out-of-state provider may be 

paid the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or the same fee-for-service rate as it would be 

paid by its home state Medicaid program. 

 

f. For services that cannot be provided by a provider that accepts payment under (A) or (B), the 

State will maintain a list of other qualified out-of-state providers, and will negotiate 

competitive rates that will not exceed the provider’s customary charge. 
 

  
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRV REF: Attachment 3.1-G, Page 30 -30a 

TN No. 07-003 Approval Date: October 31, 2008 Effective Date: November 1, 2008 
Supersedes 
TN No. NEW 



 

  

State: NEVADA Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 16 
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

 Habilitation 
 

 Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Home-Based Habilitation 

 

The billable units of service for Home-Based Habilitation Services are: 

 

• Half Day Medical Rehab – 1 unit is 3 hrs  

• Full Day Medical Rehab – 1 unit is 6 hrs 

• Residential Medical Rehab – 1 unit is 24 hours 

• Community/work integration training – 1 unit per 15 mins 

 

The Home-Based Habilitation Services are reimbursed the lower of a) billed charges for b) fee schedule 

rates of: 

 

• Half Day Medical Rehab - $220.38/unit 

• Full Day Medical Rehab - $440.75/unit 

• Residential Medical Rehab - $651.00/per diem 

• Community/work integration training - $5.38/unit 

 

The fee schedule rates for the billing units of the Home-Based Habilitation services are developed based 

on the following components: 

 

• Wage information – except for physician, wage information is based on reports from the Bureau 

of Labor Statistics (BLS) and identified by Medicaid staff as comparable to Home-Based 

Habilitation services. The healthcare professionals for home-based habilitation services include: 

• Case Managers 

• Therapists (PT/OT/ST) 

• Registered Nurses 

• Rehab Technicians 

• Psychologists 

 

• Physician Contract Costs – estimate of hourly cost of contracted physician is based on BLS 

reports for gross salary of primary care physicians, grossed up to reflect ratio of practice revenue 

to pre-tax salary equivalent. 

 

• Employee related expenses (ERE) percentage of 27% includes employee benefits such as life 

insurance, medical insurance, employee education benefits, etc. and statutory employer 

contributions such as social security, unemployment insurance, workers’ compensation and 

Medicare. 

 

• Other costs and economy factor: Approximately 35% of total business costs relate to non-direct 

care activities. Non-direct care activities include facility rent/lease, purchased services, 

accounting, legal, utilities, supplies, postage, copying, administrative/business travel, insurance, 

fidelity bond, etc. 
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 
 
 

The economy factor, approximately 15%, represents an additional premium in addition to direct and 

other costs to attract willing and qualified service providers.  

 

The following steps are used to form a reasonable basis to determine the average fee schedule rates: 

 

1. The State will use the hourly wage information of each healthcare professional, from the BLS 

and the contract rate estimate for physicians. 

2. The hourly compensation for each professional is allocated to each billable service unit, i.e. 

half day, full day and 24 hours residential, based on the average proportion of the time each 

healthcare professional provided for each billable service unit. 

3. The aggregate amount of each individual professional’s allocated compensation by billable 

service unit (Item 2) is increased by 27% of ERE to equal to direct care costs by each billable 

service unit. 

4. Other costs and economy factor are applied to the direct care costs by each billable service 

unit (Item 3) to equal the estimated amount of all other costs and economy factor by each 

billable unit. 

5. The sum of direct care costs (Item 3) and other costs and economy factor (Item 4) of all the 

billable services is adjusted to account for the impact of utilization patterns to arrive at the fee 

schedule rate for each of the billable services.  The utilization of each billable service unit is: 

 

• Half Day Medical Rehab - 5%  

• Full Day Medical Rehab - 50%  

• 24 hour Residential - 45%  

 

The agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2006 and are effective for services on or after January 1, 

2006. All rates are published on the agency’s website at: http://dhcfp.nv.gov. 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 

 

For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services provided by a government entity: 

 

 Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services for 

Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness 

 

Partial Hospitalization - 1 unit per 60 mins 

Intensive Outpatient Program - per Diem 

 

Rate Methodology: 
 
HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization services provided by a state or local government entity 

for individuals with chronic mental illness are reimbursed according to a methodology used to certify costs 

as representing expenditures eligible for FFP and may be used only by providers who undergo all Medicaid 

cost identification, reporting, reconciliation and settlement procedures. 

 

I. the lower of: a) billed charges; or b) an interim rate. The Interim rate is the rate for a specific service 

for a period that is provisional in nature, pending the completion of cost reconciliation and a cost 

settlement for that period. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing HCBS Day Treatment or 

Other Partial Hospitalization services the following steps are performed: 

 

1. Interim Rates 

  

Governmental providers are reimbursed on an interim basis for direct medical services per unit of 

service at the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or a provider-specific interim rate. A provider-

specific interim rate is an annual rate for the specific services for a period that is provisional in 

nature, pending the completion of cost reconciliation and a cost settlement for that period. Interim 

rates are based on program experience and cost data reported during the prior fiscal year. 

 

2. Annual Cost Report Process 

 

Each governmental provider will complete an annual cost report in the format proscribed by Nevada 

Medicaid in the Medicaid Operations Manual for all medical services delivered during the previous 

state fiscal year covering July 1 through June 30. The cost report is due on or before December 1 of 

the year following the close of the reporting period. The primary purposes of the cost report are to: 

 

a. document the provider's total Medicaid-allowable cost for delivering the medical services, 

including direct costs and indirect costs, based on the methodologies/steps described below; 

and 

b. reconcile its interim payments to its total Medicaid-allowable costs. 
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

The methodologies/steps are incorporated in the approved Cost Allocation Plan (PACAP) to facilitate 

the accumulation of Medicaid allocable and allowable cost. 
 

The annual Medicaid Cost Report includes a certification of the provider's actual, incurred allocable 

and allowable Medicaid costs/expenditures. All filed annual Cost Reports are subject to audit by 

DCHFP or its designee. 

 

To determine the Medicaid-allowable direct and indirect costs of providing covered services to 

Medicaid-eligible clients, the following steps are performed: 

 

A. Facilities that are primarily providing medical services 

 

(a) Direct costs for covered services include unallocated payroll costs and other 

unallocated costs that can be directly charged to covered medical services. Direct 

payroll costs include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and contract 

compensation) of direct care staff. Other direct costs include costs directly related to 

the delivery of covered services, such as supervision, materials and supplies, 

professional and contracted services, capital outlay, and travel. These costs must be in 

compliance with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are 

accumulated on the annual cost report, resulting in total direct costs. 

 

(b) The direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not in compliance 

with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are further reduced by any 

federal payments for those costs resulting in adjusted direct costs for covered services. 

 

(c)  Indirect costs are determined by either applying the agency specific approved indirect 

cost rate to its net direct costs. If the provider has no approved indirect cost rate, the 

allocated indirect costs can be derived from the allocation process through the 

provider’s approved cost allocation plan. These allocated indirect costs are reduced by 

any unallowable amount based on Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy. 

The indirect costs details are accumulated on the annual cost report. 
 

(d) Net direct costs (Item b) and indirect costs (Item c) are combined. 
 

(e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do not spend 100% 

of their time providing the Medical services described in the applicable section 3.1-A 

State plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that medical service 

personnel spend on direct medical services, general and administrative time, and all 

other activities to account for 100 percent of the time to assure that there is no 

duplicate claiming. This CMS approved time study methodology will be used to 

separate administrative activities and direct services. 
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The direct medical services time study percentage is applied against the net direct and 

indirect costs. 

 

(f) Medicaid’s portion of total allowable costs is calculated by multiplying the result from 

Item (e) above to the ratio of the total units of service provided to Medicaid eligible 

clients to the total units of service provided. 

 

(g) Total Medicaid allowable costs (Item f) is reduced by any revenue, e.g. Medicaid co-

payments and TPL, received for the same service to arrive at the total Medicaid net 

allocable and allowable costs. 

 

B. Facilities that are used for multiple purposes, and the provision of medical services is not the 

primary purpose 

 

(a) Direct costs include unallocated payroll costs and medical equipment and supplies. 

Unallocated payroll costs include total compensation (i.e., salaries and benefits and 

contract compensation) of direct care staff. These costs are accumulated on the annual 

cost report. 

 

(b) The Direct costs from Item (a) are reduced by any amount that is not in compliance 

with Medicaid non-institutional reimbursement policy and are further reduced by any 

federal payments for those costs, resulting in adjusted direct costs. 

 

(c) Indirect costs are determined by applying the agency specific approved indirect cost 

rate to its net direct costs (Item b.). If the entity has no approved indirect costs rate, the 

allocated indirect costs can be derived from the allocation process through the 

provider’s approved cost allocation plan. 

 

These indirect costs are reduced by any unallowable amount. For these facilities, allowable 

costs are only those costs that are “directly attributable” to the professional component of 

providing the medical services and are in compliance with Medicaid non-institutional 

reimbursement policy. For those costs incurred that “benefit” multiple purposes but would be 

incurred at the same level if the medical services did not occur are not allowed, e.g. room and 

board, allocated cost from other related organizations. The indirect cost details are 

accumulated on the annual cost report. 

 

(d) Net direct costs (Item (b)) and indirect costs (Item (c)) are combined. 
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1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services 

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 
 

(e) A CMS approved time study is required when providers of service do not spend 100% of 

their time providing the medical services described in the applicable section 3.1-A State 

plan pages and is used to determine the percentage of time that medical service personnel 

spend on direct medical services, general and administrative time, and all other activities to 

account for 100 percent of the time to assure that there is no duplicate claiming. This time 

study methodology will be used to separate administrative activities and direct services. 

The direct medical services CMS approved time study percentage is applied against the net 

direct and indirect costs. 

 

(f) Medicaid’s portion of the total net allocable and allowable costs is calculated by 

multiplying the result from Item (e) above to the ratio of total units of service provided to 

Medicaid eligible clients to the total units of service provided. 

 

(g) Total Medicaid allowable costs (Item f) is reduced by any revenue received for the same 

services, e.g. Medicaid co-payments and TPL, to arrive at the total Medicaid net allocable 

and allowable costs. 

 

3. Cost Reconciliation Process 

 

Governmental providers will be responsible for reconciling total allowable computable costs 

reported on the cost report to the provider’s Medicaid interim payments for Medicaid services 

delivered during the reporting period as document in the MMIS, resulting in cost reconciliation. 

The cost reconciliation process must be completed within twenty-four months of the end of the 

reporting period covered by the annual Cost Report. 

 

4. Cost Settlement Process 

 

If a governmental provider's interim payments exceed the actual, certified costs of the provider for 

services to Medicaid clients, the DHCFP will recoup the federal share of the overpayment using 

one of the following two methods: 

 

1. Off-set all future claims payments from the provider until the amount of the federal share 

of the overpayment is recovered; 

2. The provider will return an amount equal to the overpayment. 

 

If the actual, certified costs exceed the interim Medicaid payments, the DHCFP will pay the federal 

share of the difference to the provider in accordance with the final actual certification agreement. 

 

The DHCFP will issue a notice of settlement that denotes the amount due to or from the provider. 
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For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services provided by non-governmental entities 

and governmental entities who do not undergo the Medicaid cost identification and reporting procedures: 
 

 Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization 

Services for Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness 
 

The billable units of service for HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services for 

Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness are: 
 

Partial Hospitalization - 1 unit per 60 mins 

Intensive Outpatient Program – per Diem 

 

Rate Methodology: 

 

The rate is market based. This model is developed to reflect service definitions, provider 

requirements, operational service delivery and administrative considerations. The following elements 

are used to determine the rate: 

 

• Wage information is taken from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS). The wage is based on 

similar occupations reported by BLS and identified by Medicaid staff as comparable to 

services provided under the intensive outpatient program and partial hospitalization program. 

• Employee related expenses (ERE) percentage of 27% was based on input from the Task Force 

members and Medicaid Staff. It includes paid vacation, paid sick leave, holiday pay, health 

insurance, life insurance, disability, workers compensation, and legally required payroll taxes. 

• Productivity adjustment factor which accounts for the amount of non-billable time spent by 

staff. This includes the time staff needs to complete required documentation and record 

keeping, time associated with missed appointments and average travel time by the provider. 

• Program Support costs – costs based on average of 4 hours per day. This is to assist with 

paperwork and follow-up related treatment. 

• Allowance for supervisory time – costs for the time directly spent in supervising the medical 

professional providing these services. 

• Allowance for capital costs – the costs is not included in the Administrative overhead. It 

includes the average hourly expense for building rental and maintenance, equipment leasing 

and utility expenses. 

• Administrative overhead, 10%, is the percentage of service cost that should result from non-

direct care activities. It includes insurance, administrative staff, operations and management 

activities and office supplies. Capital and related expenses is not included. It also does not 

include staff training. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SRV REF: Attachment 3.1-G, Page 32 – 32b 

TN No. 07-003 Approval Date: October 31, 2008 Effective Date: November 1, 2008 

Supersedes 

TN No. NEW 



 

  

 

State: NEVADA  Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 18a 

 

1915(i) Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) State Plan Services  

METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES  
 

The following steps are used to determine the rates: 

 

1. The State will use Nevada-specific hourly wages from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as of 

May, 2004 inflated to June, 2006. 

2. The hourly amount is increased by the 27% ERE. 

3. A productivity factor is applied to the hourly compensation calculated in Item 2 to equal the 

hourly rate. 

4. The hourly rate per individual is the hourly rate (Item 3) divided by the number of individuals 

based on staffing ratio assumption. 

5. The adjusted hourly rate per individual is the hourly rate per individual (Item 4) increased by 

the program support costs per hour per individual, allowance for supervisory time and capital 

costs per hours. 

6. Administrative overhead 10% is applied to the adjusted hourly rate per individual (Item 5). 

7. Total hourly rate is the sum of the adjusted hourly rate per individual before administrative 

overhead (Item 5) and the administrative overhead (Item 6). 

8. Total hourly rate is scaled to the proper unit based on the billable unit of service. 

 

These rates have been compared to other private sector fee-for-service rates. Documentation of the 

assumptions used, rate development methodology, and fee schedule payment rates will be maintained 

by the Division of Health Care Financing and Policy (DHCFP). 

 

The agency’s rates were set as of January 1, 2006 and are effective for services on or after January 1, 

2006. All rates are published on the agency’s website at: http://dhcfp.nv.gov. 
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Services provided by an out-of-state provider require prior authorization by Nevada Medicaid, which 

must also verify that the services required by Medicaid-eligible or pending eligible clients are not 

available in Nevada. The out-of-state payment rate for services provided by an out-of-state provider is 

based on one of the following criteria: 

 

a. The out-of-state provider will be paid the lesser of the provider’s billed charges or the fee-for-

service rate that is paid to an in-state provider for the services. 

 

b. If the out-of-state provider refuses to accept this rate, then the out-of-state provider may be 

paid the lesser of the provider’s’ billed charges or the same fee-for-service rate as it would be 

paid by its home state Medicaid program. 

 

c. For services that cannot be provided by a provider that accepts payments under (A) or (B), the 

State will maintain a list of other qualified out-of-state providers, and will negotiate 

competitive rates that will not exceed the provider’s customary charge. 
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2. Presumptive Eligibility for Assessment and Initial HCBS. Period of presumptive payment for 

HCBS assessment and initial services, as defined by 1915(i)(1)(J): 

 

 The State does not elect to provide for a period of presumptive payment for individuals that 

the State has reason to believe may be eligible for HCBS. 

 

 The State elects to provide for a period of presumptive payment for independent evaluation, 

assessment, and initial HCBS. Presumptive payment is available only for individuals covered 

by Medicaid that the State has reason to believe may be eligible for HCBS, and only during the 

period while eligibility for HCBS is being determined. The presumptive period will be 60 days 

(not to exceed 60 days). 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TN No. 07-003 Approval Date: October 31, 2008 Effective Date: November 1, 2008 

Supersedes 

TN No. NEW 



 

  

 

STATE PLAN UNDER TITLE XIX OF THE SOCIAL SECURITY ACT 

State: NEVADA Attachment 4.19-B 

Page 20 

2. OUTPATIENT HOSPITAL SUPPLEMENTAL PAYMENTS 

This section of the state plan contains the provisions for making additional Medicaid payments, in order 
to preserve access to outpatient hospital services for needy individuals in the state of Nevada. Effective 
for services provided on or after March 1, 2010, the state’s Medicaid hospital reimbursement system 
shall provide for supplemental outpatient payments to non-state, governmentally owned or operated 
hospitals. These supplemental payments shall be determined on an annual basis and paid to qualifying 
hospitals on a quarterly basis. The supplemental payments shall not exceed, when aggregated with other 
fee-for-services outpatient hospital payments made to non-state, governmentally owned or operated 
hospitals, 100% of a reasonable estimate of the amount that would be paid for such services under 
Medicare payment principles in accordance with the federal upper limit regulations at 42 CFR 
§447.321. 

a. Methodology for Determining Outpatient Supplemental Payments: 

The hospitals that qualify for outpatient supplemental payments will have their payment 
amount determined using a payment-to-charge ratio UPL methodology. 

Outpatient supplemental payments for each hospital will be calculated using following method: 

 

(i) Calculate Total Medicare Outpatient Payments from: CMS 2552-96 Wkst 

E Part B, Col 1, Line 17 + CMS 2552-96 Wkst E Part B, Col 1, Line 

17.01 + CMS 2552-96 Wkst E Part B, Col 1, Line 21+22 [Add 

comparable fields for sub providers 1 and 2] 

 

(ii) Calculate Total Medicare Outpatient Charges from: CMS 2552-96 

Wkst D Part V, Line 104, Col 5 + CMS 2552-96 Wkst D Part V, Line 

104, Col 5.01 + CMS 2552-96 Wkst D Part V, Line 104, Col 5.02 + 

CMS 2552-96 Wkst D Part V, Line 104, Col 5.03 [Add comparable 

fields for sub providers 1 and 2] 

 

(iii) Calculate Medicare Outpatient Payment to Charge Ratio. The ratio is calculated by 

dividing the result of (i) by (ii) 

 

[Total Medicare Outpatient Payments] ÷ [Total Medicare Outpatient Charges] 
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(iv) The result of (iii) is multiplied by Medicaid Outpatient charges in order to 

determine the Estimated Medicare Outpatient Services Upper Payment Limit. 

Total Medicaid Outpatient charges shall be derived from Nevada Medicaid 

Management Information System (MMIS) adjudicated claims data. 

(v) Total Medicaid Outpatient Payments for the period are subtracted from 
the result (iv) to determine the annual amount of Outpatient Supplemental 
Payment. Total Medicaid Outpatient payment shall be derived from Nevada 
Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) adjudicated claims data. 

b. Outpatient Supplemental Payments: 

 

(i) Each qualifying hospital will provide documentation of CMS form 2552 

cost report for Medicare charge and payment information for the previous fiscal 

year to Medicaid by April 1st of each year. 

 

(ii) Beginning April 2010, Medicaid will calculate the total outpatient 

supplement payment for qualifying hospitals using the methodology in section 

A. above. At the end of each calendar quarter, hospitals will receive a payment 

amount equal to 25% of the hospital's total outpatient supplemental payment. 
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Citation 

 

42 CFR 447, 434, 438, and 1902(a)(4), 1902(a)(6), and 1903 

 

Payment Adjustment for Provider Preventable Conditions 

 

The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of 42 CFR Part 447, Subpart A, and Sections 

1902(a)(4),1902(a)(6), and 1903 with respect to non-payment for provider-preventable conditions. 

 

Other Provider-Preventable Conditions 

 

The State identifies the following Other Provider-Preventable Conditions (OPPCs) for non-payment under 

Section(s) 4.19-B. 

 

 X Wrong surgical or other invasive procedure performed on a patient; surgical or other invasive 

procedure performed on the wrong body part; surgical or other invasive procedure performed on the 

wrong patient. 

 

____ Additional Other Provider-Preventable Conditions identified below (please indicate the section(s) of 

the plan and specific service type and provider type to which the provisions will be applied. For example 

– 4.19(d) nursing facility services, 4.19(b) physician services) of the plan: 

  

Methodology for Identifying Other Provider-Preventable Conditions 

The State Agency's fiscal agent will review claims with dates of service on or after July 1, 2012 for OPPCs 

and report to the State. The state’s Surveillance and Utilization Review (SUR) unit will review each claim 

identified in that report and recover payments associated with the OPPC. 

 

Payment Adjustment 

 

For OPPCs not present on admission, payment will be reduced to those costs not associated with an OPPC, 

using standard rates assigned to CPT and HCPCS codes for reimbursement by the DHCFP. 

 

The existing appeals process will be available to providers who dispute the determination. 
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(Reserved for Future Use) 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

TN No. 03-03 Approval Date: February 2, 2004 Effective Date: May 8, 2003 
Supersedes 
TN No. 97-05 


